Opel Zafira 1.8 MTA (A) 

This car is no longer available in the market.
Latest OMV: $21,934
Engine Cap: 1796 cc
Power: 140Bhp @ 6300rpm
Torque: 175Nm @ 3800rpm
Type: MPV
Euro NCAP: N.A
User Ratings: 3.00 from 2 reviews

Authorized Dealer


Have you test driven this car before? Post Your Review

The reviews are meant to assist others in research and to make informed buying decisions. Please be detailed and descriptive! Your review can make a significant difference in influencing decisions. Please login before submitting your review.
Extra information here provides more technical details to the car being reviewed:
km/Litre

User Reviews (2)

Singapore
Member offline

horrified experience
with Zafira 2002
model

Reviewed on 6 Aug 2009 10:00AM
Reviewed by: zennman
Car reviews written ( 2 )
Duration of car driven: Not Sure
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Wonder why there are so few Zafira on the road? Read my experience @ mycarforum.com.Too long to write it again!! Also search the web "Problems with Vauxhall Zafira" In Europe,it's not Opel but under the name Vauxhall. I will not touch any Opel car in my lifetime!!!




Latest Response:


zennman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 18 Jan 2011 9:49AM

Dear Zaidimez' Pls don't pretend to be an expert if you do not know the real problem of the Zafira engine, don't need to lecture me on the "use of MTA" crap, wait until a day when you drive on the expressway and tailgate by a big truck @ 90km/hr, when your car suddenly lost power, due to "CARBON RESIDUE CHOKING THE THROTTLE VALVE", HA! ha!Don't blame me for not warning you. asdzds

zaidimez
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 26 Aug 2009 1:44PM

Bro Zennmann, My first car is a ZAFIRA 1.8 MTA. Yes i agree in U.K. they known as Vauxhaul not Opel. You hv to get to use of the MTA. Yes 90km/h you loose power cuz the car enagage on overdrive after you hi 100 km/h. But if you shit it to 4th gear you will find the car have more power. At first i find very funny driving it... but after awhile i prefer using the Manual mode...you will deffinately enjoy more what this car have. Too bad you sold you car only after 4 yrs. It took me only 2 days to getting use to the MTA and til now loving every moment of it. even my wife is enjoying it. She drive like a rally drive everytime she drive. Remeber at one time she drive her friend's STREAM...she come back and tell me that the car is too light for her and she does not feel safe in it. asdzds

zennman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 10 Aug 2009 9:09AM

Sorry the above response is for you, WD45. Press the wrong button. Hope is helpful to u. asdzds

zennman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 10 Aug 2009 9:07AM

To cut the story short, the main problem is " throttle valve body clot with carbon residue" , car will suddenly lost power while cruising @ 90km/hr, can u imagine how dangerous if your family is in the car!!!! and mind you, is a recurrent problem. I'd to scrap the car when it's only 4 yr old. The manufacturer denied is their engine fault. U buy at your own risk. For me I don't dare to drive any Opel car in my lifetime, even if it's 10-stars security award!!! asdzds

WD45
North, Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 7 Aug 2009 5:19PM

Can repost your review here? can't find the posting. thanks :) asdzds


AAA
Singapore
Member offline

Rock Solid and Value
for Money MPV

Reviewed on 15 Dec 2008 9:48PM
Reviewed by: AAA
Car reviews written ( 2 )
Similar cars tried: 1.4L Volks Wagen Touran MPV
Fuel consumption: 14 km/litre
Drive pattern: Sale woman guarantee the fuel consumption figure. She puts her reputation to the figure. ....of course base on my driving pattern that she observed during test drive.....ie no hard acceleration.
Duration of car driven: Test Drove Once Only
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Because of poor branding positioning of Opel, it is unable to charge a premium. Therefore you get a great bang for your money. Discover its merits before Opel hire some marketing talent to educate consumers of this great car, pushing prices up. [ Mention Volvo, people think safety. B'cos of such strong brand positioning, Volvo is able to charge a premium. ] Opel branding has not achieved that, take advantage of it. Let my action say it all...... I bought the car.

Strengths

Very elegant interior, of great quality and solidly built. The door closes with an extreme solid feel. Sufficient room in every row even if you fit a 1.8m adult in every row. Comfortable seats. Stands out from Japs rivals. 5 speed gear box with both manual & auto, 2-in-1. Euroncap 5 star safety. Euroncap praises Zafira for its very solid body.
German build. Just pay a little more than Japs and you get so much more.
Very solid when cruising that you won't want a Jap MPV any more.

Weaknesses

After driving VW Touran, the excitment of Zafira engine pales away. Other than that, it's a great car.




Latest Response:


zennman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Aug 2009 8:24PM

ya, I've to agree with u "Just pay a little more and u get so much more" You'll get so much more "problems". Not only u have to burn a ,hole in your pocket but the service engineers were really incompetent. I owned the Zafira from 2002-2006, I paid a heavy price to learn a lesson. My original post is @ mycarforum.com. The story is too long for me to post it here again. A search on the internet also revealed similar problem with other Opel owners. The car will just lost power suddenly when you are travelling @ 90 km/hr and the whole car jerked. It was extremely dangerous if you are tailgated by a big truck. To make thing worse, the service engineer did't know what the hell was happening and I had to sent the car in 4 times and paid close to S$2000. The same problem (throttle valve body choked with carbon residue)recurred 2 more times before I traded the LEMON for a brand new Honda Odyssey. Already travelled 53000km with the Odyssey, seems that the 3 yr/100000km warranty is quite redundant. Still rarely see a Zafira on the road. Have their engine reliability improved? But for me, I don't dare to drive any Opel car anymore!!!! asdzds