Subaru Impreza 1.5R-L 4Dr (A) 

This car is no longer available in the market.
Latest OMV: $13,840
Engine Cap: 1498 cc
Power: 107Bhp @ 6000rpm
Torque: 142Nm @ 3200rpm
Type: Sedan
Euro NCAP: N.A
User Ratings: 3.67 from 3 reviews

Authorized Dealer


Have you test driven this car before? Post Your Review

The reviews are meant to assist others in research and to make informed buying decisions. Please be detailed and descriptive! Your review can make a significant difference in influencing decisions. Please login before submitting your review.
Extra information here provides more technical details to the car being reviewed:
km/Litre

User Reviews (3)

Singapore
Member offline

No regret!!

Reviewed on 17 Sep 2010 12:58AM
Reviewed by: kamenrider
Car reviews written ( 7 )
Similar cars tried: Waja, Altis, Wira, Sunny
Fuel consumption: 11 km/litre
Drive pattern: Weekend car. used freq. at NSEW. 50-50 on city road and E-way. Best clocked 14KM/L on NSEW once so far.
Duration of car driven: 1 year
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Used/Drove it for more then a year. Fuel consumption average is 11km/L. the best FC is on the E-way. 13KM/L. All systems works good. IE unit replaced by MI once as it's malfuction. other then that. no more complain. This model don't have key hole for the boot. you simply press and hold the unlock on the remote to open the boot(Please read the Car user manual).

Strengths

Best Handling, sure grip feel make you more confident to take corner. Boxer engine notes-Unique.

Weaknesses

weak pick-up/start-up. You will need to engage the sport mode to make overtake more easily.




Latest Response:


eddyngiam
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 27 Sep 2010 2:35AM

I bought in Apr2010 worth every single cents after driving for 6 months and FC average is 11Km/L and Express way above 12.6km/L close to your FC data. It is an Excellent car for performance and value. Absolutely No reget as this is the 1st time I own a Subaru car. asdzds


Singapore
Member offline

I LOVE ME IMPREZA!!!

Reviewed on 18 May 2009 12:48AM
Reviewed by: kamenrider
Car reviews written ( 7 )
Similar cars tried: PROTON WAJA, TOYOTA ALTIS, MITSUBISHI LANCER,HONDA JAZZ, NISSAN SUNNY.
Fuel consumption: 10.4 km/litre
Drive pattern: Mostly drive in town <->north +NS highway +causeway JB...etc so can say combined pattern.
Duration of car driven: 3 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

managed to take curve in 120km/h which i used to drive around 90km/h with other cars in Malaysia cuontry side road. After 1st servicing(1600km)the pick-up improved lots:)might feel more better after 2nd and 3rd services as the run-in done.... Just found out on web, the boot actually can be open by remote from outside the car...after 2 months plus drove it...

Strengths

Very good handling even in Malaysia country side road.
Boot can be open with press and hold the remote key 'open' button about 2 to 3 sec.

Weaknesses

Fuel consumtion so far the best only around 10.4km per liter.




Latest Response:


joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 29 May 2009 9:31AM

Jason, Personally i think Ford is a nice car. But I understand of their FC is not good and i got phobia of Ford cause Army use them. (i'm a Vech Mech during NS time. haha) Anyway my main concern for Ford is that their low CC Engine are not that good (Low Power). Hope that they can inprove on that as i like the design of Ford Focus RS. asdzds

ismailbakar
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 25 May 2009 7:30PM

Hi Jason, Ford Focus is a continental made in Germany. I drove this car when I was overseas two years ago, handles very well but the 1.6litre engine is a little underpowered. I am not Jose but just like to share my experience. asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 22 May 2009 1:13PM

Jose , jst to check with you , is Ford a conti car..don see much new ford on the road lately..what do u think about the ford focus&amp;#65311; asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 19 May 2009 9:57AM

Jason, I know, that is why i was disappointed with legacy. Head room not enough for rear passenger. asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 18 May 2009 3:43PM

Hi jos , you had to really sit on the car to compare the interior space , some car looks big on the outside only , the picanto might look small but with very decent interior space. Hi kama , already install the sport exhaust , in few month time..the boxer will sound ever better with bassy sound. If u are into cornering , the front strut is worth investing..cheers asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 18 May 2009 3:02PM

&quot;Hi, Jason. ya, our Impreza is good car and fun, real fun to drive. even the FC is on the high side...hehehe...i enjoy the boxer note too... &quot; Actually, If the price of Impreza can go down by another 5K it will most likely be able to cover for its high FC. Yeah, the new Cerato look nice but i dont feel comfortable with Korean car though i understand that they had improve a lot. The Car sound and Feel hollow when i close the door. Might go for New Octavia if the Price is good when it come to Singapore. asdzds

kamenrider
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 18 May 2009 1:33PM

'I'm pretty curious. what is the interior car size like compare to Lancer EX and Honda Civic? I have a need of a bigger Interior car size. ' Hi, if the space is your main concern, then this not your chooice. as the rear seats leg space &amp; boot space not very large. You might want hv a look on the Cerato Forte. look 4 my review on it. Hi, Jason. ya, our Impreza is good car and fun, real fun to drive. even the FC is on the high side...hehehe...i enjoy the boxer note too... asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 18 May 2009 12:07PM

I'm pretty curious. what is the interior car size like compare to Lancer EX and Honda Civic? I have a need of a bigger Interior car size. asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 18 May 2009 10:39AM

Hi bro , now you realise why we still love the scobby even though the FC is high , it is a good car. asdzds


Singapore
Member offline

Nice small/mid size
sedan for little
family.(Fun to drive
car)

Reviewed on 22 Feb 2009 11:15PM
Reviewed by: kamenrider
Car reviews written ( 7 )
Similar cars tried: Vios 1.5A, Aveo1.4A, Lancer GLX 1.6A, Avante 1.6A, Cerato Forte 1.6A,
Drive pattern: From Data sheet:
URBAN: 10.2 lit./km
EXTRA URBAN 16.1 lit./km
COMBINED 13.3 lit./km
Duration of car driven: Not Sure
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Or should i say the Impreza 1.5R-L 4D 2009. I'm test drove the 1.5R AT 4Door. at the end booked a 1.5R-L AT 4Door. where L=Luxury, the L package have Leather seats, Autotint, Sony spks upgrade, Panasonic 2-DIN Head unit, Steering remote control, Reverse Camera + all the std accessories &amp; features. Interial- Once step in the cabin, I felt like sat inside a sport car, with the 'Bay' style dashboard, all the meters and control knobs is in thier right position just like 'normal' car. I like the Audio unit in the normal center position not like others design 'intergrated', so in case the audio unit fault, you can change to any models in the market. Seats support good enough with manual-pump style hight adjustable for driver, good 60/40 knock-down rear seat, Dual air-bags, silent even the engine started. Exterior-Nice overall, but pity, no side mirror integrated signal where many other maker have. a bit disappointed as no LED rear combination lights like the 5door/hatch model. New styling loss the 'fierce-look' from previous model, now more gentle. No spoiler for 'L' spec, but 'S' spec do have. Performance-Tested along Leng KeeRd/Alexandra Rd, even asked for special routine(Afetr signed the dotted line) to some slopy rd near Rumah Tinggi area to see the hill climbing performance, Slow pick-up is clearly seen, but once you shifted to manual mode,'SportShift' kicked in the fun begin! immediate respond can be feel with the step of accelerator. Overall, good engine performance not as impress as Avante and Lancer EX, very good handling when you take sharp conering with AWD+ABS+EBD=safe and grip. In this price range you get this unique Boxer engine + AWD, one and only in the market in this category, worth the buying. If Budget allow, Definately will move on to WRX or Forester :)

Strengths

1.AWD handling,
2.Silent Boxer engine nice rev sound,
3.Nice interior,
4.Manual mode-'SPORTSHIFT' by Prodrive Ltd.
5.Audio input for your mp3/ipod

Weaknesses

1.Slow pick-up(maybe AVCS control to save Fuel??)
2.Real leg-room not as large as other makes i tried.
3.Boot space not deep enough maybe cause by the real differential?
4.No intergrated side mirror signal light, LED rear combination lights.
5.Audio input shld not inside the ctr console box.
6.Centre console box position too far behind, cause blocking at the middle rear-seat leg-room.




Latest Response:


p4cm4n2000
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 16 Oct 2009 8:46PM

I test drove the Subaru Impreza 1.5R AT 4Door at Leng Kee today. I had problem getting into the car despite lowering the sit all the way. As I'm 1.65m tall, I had to somehow twist sideways ensure my butt sits on the chair first, then slowly slip my left leg under the steering wheels &quot;rubbing&quot; it to get in. Unlike KIA, Suzuki SX4, Avante with ease. After sitted, I'm not used to the steering in the centre being too close to both my legs, as I had to keep both my legs to the left &amp; right position all the time, moving them lightly to the centre would rub on to the steering. Luckily the steering wheel has telescopic extension to at least shift it towards my body to give my legs more room. Moving off from the car park at Subaru's lot seems fine as I need to be careful negotiating around the tight bends at the premises. However, left turn upon checking right oncoming vehicle cleared seems to be very slow to pick up as well. Now matter which method or pattern I tried pressing the accelerator, the car still moves very very slowly. And oncoming vehicles from the back luckily did not horn at me. Cos the pick up speed for Impreza Auto 1.5 is simply too damn slow! I've not tried switching to sports mode. Compared to KIA,Suzuki SX4, Avante they are much more responsive to move-off upon pressing the accelerator from stopped position. Tough this 4wheel drive car I have to admit is extremely quite and smooth on high speed, especially able to take cornering with extreme ease, I'm quite disappointed with the implementation of the slow pickup speed from stationary. I hope Subaru R&amp;D can tweak the throttle curve to give it more pick up at start position. asdzds

kamenrider
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 28 May 2009 11:56PM

Yah, noted. Driving fun does'n mean going faster but to enjoy the car and ur trip in safe way!!cheers! BTW Latest FC calculation shown that my avarage usage is 9.9Km/liter. asdzds

accyt1978
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 28 May 2009 4:31PM

bro..drive safe..4WD is not invincible..as u have seen the mess in the papers and the high insurance... asdzds

ic3boi
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 23 May 2009 9:16PM

i drive the 1.5 4-D MT version.. so far so good. Love the handling, and the engine sound at hi-revs. I love Scooby!! asdzds

kamenrider
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 14 Apr 2009 1:10PM

FC updated: 1st fuelling 23.3Ltr,244km, 10.5km/l(combined) 2nd fuelling 22.2Ltr,194km, 8.7km/l(urban) 3rd fuelling 25.6Ltr,278km, 10.9km/l(combined) 4th fuelling 30.5Ltr,288km, 9.4km/l(combined) 5th fuelling 11.6Ltr,58km, 5.0km/l(urban: incld 2.5hrs jam at Wlds causeway) asdzds

kamenrider
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 17 Mar 2009 1:28PM

latest update, FC 10.5km/liter done on 244km. Found poor sound proof on the roof when raining! like inside a tin can! less boot light bit not convinient, less storage/pocket inside cabin. A/C less powerful in 1st fan speed as compared to Proton Waja(my current ride too)which Proton have the best A/C i think up to now since it's launched on 1983. New buyer might want to request MI to provide mudguard as mine dont hv. The original key porch design no good,just normal leather porch screwed onto the key, they should make it like Accord/BMW type which key can be fold into the controller is more practical and 'pocket' friendly. asdzds

kamenrider
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 1 Mar 2009 3:57PM

thks for respond! will tk my time to drive it. it's always fun for me to driving :) asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 23 Feb 2009 10:09AM

good choice , check out my reviews in my profie. 4 months now and no regrets. just stay cool for the first 5k miliage , sportshift is a must before run in . but now is history for me , u can rev up to 5k rpm easily at drive mode and most car will smell your smoke . cheers asdzds