Honda Civic Hybrid 1.3 i-VTEC (A) 

This car is no longer available in the market.
Latest OMV: $34,677
Engine Cap: 1339 cc
Power: 95Bhp @ 6000rpm
Torque: 125Nm @ 4600rpm
Type: Sedan
Euro NCAP: N.A
User Ratings: 3.00 from 3 reviews

Authorized Dealer

Kah Motor
Currently unavailable

Have you test driven this car before? Post Your Review

The reviews are meant to assist others in research and to make informed buying decisions. Please be detailed and descriptive! Your review can make a significant difference in influencing decisions. Please login before submitting your review.
Extra information here provides more technical details to the car being reviewed:
km/Litre

User Reviews (3)

Singapore
Member offline

VERY UNRELIABLE IS
OSTENSIBLY A
MANUFACTURING ERROR

Reviewed on 28 Nov 2020 1:56AM
Reviewed by: sky.lin.wenxin
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Fuel consumption: 12 km/litre
Duration of car driven: 6 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

I was the 2nd owner of this car, it was nice and great in the beginning until when COVID-19 Circuit Breaker happens, for 2 weeks i didnt touch the car which i thought is fine. Then when the day came for me to drive, i realised the engine light was on, subsequently in weeks, the IMA failed and the lights were on, a week or 2 later, the IMA failed so bad that the power steering were gone. So i booked an appoinment and sent it for a check at Kah Motor, and they mentioned the IMA system failed and to replace cost $13000 and that is on top of the battery that can amount to $3000. TOTAL AMOUNTING TO $16000 on top of your other cost It was shocking and when i sell this car off ALL DEALERS QUOTE THEN SIMPLY WENT QUIET WHEN MENTIONED TRADE IN. SHOCKING!! BAD BAD CAR TO OWN. P.S. NEVER LISTEN TO ANYONE WHEN COMES TO CARS, PEOPLE GIVE WRONG ADVICE DESPITE BEING OVER 10 YEARS SALES IN CAR MARKET.

Strengths

Big space nice saloon

Weaknesses

IMA WILL KILL THE WHOLE ELECTRIC SYSTEM.



Singapore
Member offline
Reviewed on 7 May 2015 2:51PM
Reviewed by: Muru
Car reviews written ( 2 )
Duration of car driven: Not Sure
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Was driving an 08 1.3 civic hybrid. Was a used car. Battery started failing after 6 months lemon period. Would charge but cannot hold the power. Out of a sudden it will lose power. What is needed when you drive into highway. Posed danger. Driving pattern also has had to be different. If not will not charge properly.Heard battery can last 3 years only. It needs 8 sparkplugs. Brade fluid top-up to be done somewhere under. Not top. If everything works in the car well it can prove to be a beeter ride than the civic 1.6A.



Singapore
Member offline

Great car - and not
just for Greenies

Reviewed on 5 Aug 2009 5:08PM
Reviewed by: hotnyh
Car reviews written ( 4 )
Similar cars tried: Toyota Prius Mk 2 and Mk 3
Fuel consumption: 15 km/litre
Drive pattern: 100% town driving gives 14-15km/L
80% expressway driving would give 17-18km/L
100% expressway gives better than 19km/L-21km/L
Duration of car driven: 2 years
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

I've had my HCH2 (Honda Civic Hybrid Mk 2) for nearly three years now. I've not had any problems with the IMA (Integrated Motor Assist) battery or motor - which was my biggest worry about getting a hybrid car. I find that to this day, many people do not understand what hybrids are. I routinely get asked how I plug my car to an electric socket. The HCH2 and Prius (and the new Honda Insight) do not need to be plugged in to a/c power. Power is via the normal petrol engine. It charges the hybrid batteries when the engine is running or when braking. The HCH2 inherits the good looks of the FD Civic and it's spacious interior. The ride is comfortable though the suspension travel is not great and the car can bottom out on speed bumps. The boot is somewhat smaller than the normal FD Civic's and the rear seats cannot fold down as the IMA batteries are hidden behind them. The boot can get quite warm with all the recharging/ discharging cycles going on so if you have a long drive home from the market, better not put frozen foods in there! Better put in the car cabin itself. Performance is good when the IMA battery has sufficient charge stored. In fact, Civic forum members tried the performance between the HCH2 and the 1.6A FD and the hybrid was faster to 100kmh by a little bit. However, when the charge runs low- which happens easily if you have to sit in a traffic jam with the a/c on, the performance falls off dramatically. The car will feel very strained and sluggish until you build up enough charge again- this takes only a few minutes once you are driving on open roads again. The car is very quiet except when you stomp down hard on the accelerator. The CVT transmission makes a loud whine but I have gotten used to it. The Prius Mk 3 is much more refined at high revs. For normal driving the car responds briskly even below 3000rpm so it feels refined most of the time. Equipment level is in between the 1.8 and 2L models. It has 4 airbags but no HID lamps and no VSA (vehicle stability assist- only on the 2L). Road tax is based on the 1.3L engine which is great! It needs only 3.5L of engine oil at service time. I have not had to do any non-routine servicing in 50,000km. I bought the car at $74K. Currently it sells at $93K... it has always been around the price of the 1.8 and 2L Civics. Back when I bought it, the Prius Mk 2 was >$10K more than the HCH2. The Mk 3 is much closer in price and may be the better buy now (OMV is $35K I heard). Hybrid ownership is painless and costs are really comparable to owning other Civics- may be cheaper even if you do lots of driving. To me the part I like best about this car is having to fill up only once in 10-14 days compared with once in 4 days before (Impreza).

Strengths

1. Good FC
2. Quiet
3. Spacious

Weaknesses

1. CVT whine at high throttle
2. Honda premium prices!
3. Anaemic performance when IMA battery low




Latest Response:


pass09
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 21 Oct 2009 10:47PM

well,,,i often reminded my frens and car enthusiats NEVER NEVER buy from PI. When buying car, the aftersales service is very important. Its more important do some research abt the car u r interested, but also remember all review from mags or website are just some generic infos, cos they will nv nv nv tell u the darkside of the car. A car also represent your character, you choose the type of car that most suit your characters, from minds to soul, but not your wallet. Coz u might end up buying the wrong car. Remember, the car is you, and you are the car. If you failed to handle the car, the car will fail you. just my MIllion dollars worth of advice.! asdzds

zeenie
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 15 Oct 2009 12:03PM

Good detailed review. Will consider a hybrid car for my next car if i need to drive around often. asdzds

hotnyh
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 15 Oct 2009 9:59AM

Update: I must have jinxed myself writing the above review. Soon after that I started experiencing frequent regeneration when the car a/c is on and stuck in urban traffic. The problem slowly got worse and I was sometimes going into regeneration mode even when the car was moving. This is rather frustrating as the car has very poor performance running solely on the 1.3 petrol engine. Brought the car back to Kah. They did an extensive test drive and replicated the problem. They decided to change the IMA battery under warranty (the warranty expires in 3 months' time). I didn't have to kick up a fuss to get the new battery for which I am very grateful to the dealer. The new battery was despatched from Japan and was fitted on Monday. The old battery is being shipped back to Japan for investigations. So far, all the old performance is back and the car feels good again. Have not had any regeneration since the battery change. In retrospect, I think it is very impt to have a dealer who is willing to support the hybrid battery problems. Kah gives a 3 yr warranty, Borneo has increased theirs to 5 years for the Prius. I'd say, go for the Prius! I would be very wary of getting a hybrid vehicle from a PI who may not be so supportive. Kudos to the Kah Motors service team though for the good support. I would be happy to own another Honda again from them. asdzds

hotnyh
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 7 Aug 2009 5:00PM

The IMA battery is mean to last the life of the car. So say both Toyota and Honda. If you believe Honda, the previous car sharing programme that they had- DIRACC, which was run using Gen 1 and 2 Civic Hybrids, did not have a single IMA failure. If you have the misfortune to actually need an IMA battery, Kah says they will subsidise the 1st one- it will cost $1.4K. Unsubsidised I think it is >$3K. asdzds

sumo
CCK, Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 7 Aug 2009 4:56PM

When is the IMA battery due for replacement? Any estimated prices? asdzds

hotnyh
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Aug 2009 10:21PM

My driving pattern has changed a bit over the years - I am driving less distance now but much more urban areas. Hardly go on the expressways now. The Impreza TS 1.6M was a good car too but I would struggle to get 11km/L. It was underpowered and I guess the AWD was causing wasted petrol too. There are Prius owners who can get 1000km+ per tank. My HCH2 can't do that- I could probably stretch refuelling to once in 15-16 days with a Prius! asdzds

eugn86
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Aug 2009 9:44PM

I'm amazed! Fill up once in 10-14 days compared to once in 4 days! Well done in getting a Hybrid. asdzds