Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (DSG) 

This car is no longer available in the market.
Latest OMV: $21,512
Engine Cap: 1390 cc
Power: 122Bhp @ 5000rpm
Torque: 200Nm @ 1500rpm
Type: Sedan
Euro NCAP: N.A
User Ratings: 4.25 from 4 reviews

Authorized Dealer


Have you test driven this car before? Post Your Review

The reviews are meant to assist others in research and to make informed buying decisions. Please be detailed and descriptive! Your review can make a significant difference in influencing decisions. Please login before submitting your review.
Extra information here provides more technical details to the car being reviewed:
km/Litre

User Reviews (4)

Singapore
Member offline

Still Alive and
Kicking

Reviewed on 2 Dec 2013 3:39PM
Reviewed by: swordsman
Car reviews written ( 5 )
Fuel consumption: 14.5 km/litre
Drive pattern: Range between 12 (heavy) to 17km/L (light traffic)
Jam excluded
Duration of car driven: More than 3 years
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Little did I expect myself to write about my Jetta again. It’s been three years since my last review. Though the initial passion about the car has become somewhat mellowed, the car has grown in me. It’s my daily partner in work and leisure. My last car lasted for five years, this car is in its fifth. Given the prohibitive COE level, it should be with me until the tenth. So here I am sharing some experiences with fellow old Jetta drivers (sorry I knew not much of the current Jetta). Over the last three years, the car hasn’t given me much major problems. Even with the recent recall due to DSG and I have not gone to replace it, I am fortunate that my car isn’t a lemon. Very much alive and kicking, it still faithfully delivers the necessary power and consistency for daily driving and the occasional venture up north across the border. There was a software upgrade about a year plus ago that resolved the issue of uncertain gear shift between 4 and 5. The smoothness of DSG did not look back since. No complaints although I am unsure what problem it has given to anyone on the current recall. After recent servicing done at an external workshop, found the drive starts to feel rough from 70km/h onwards, with obvious low frequency rattling sound. It’s a rather strange phenomenon but I’m not sure if it’s coming from the engine or the wheels. Getting it to be checked at VW later this month. By the way the servicing staff at VW is quite responsive and polite, although I can’t say the same about the follow-up when making phone call requests. The wait for my alternative appointment to replace the DSG has been eternal ever since I can’t make it to the original appointment. The queue for servicing can be as long as two months, and the servicing itself can take more than a day. Although VW may have good reasons for those, to drivers who need car every day, it’s not something that’s pleasant. One thing I was told is the originally installed Continental tyres are better to be changed every 40,000km due to Jetta’s heavier weight than its Jap/Korean contemporaries. Hardened tyres don’t have good braking distance (means longer). With wear and tear and age catching up, some of the stuffs are not it’s used to be: left wing mirror not returning to position after reverse gear disengaged, noisier aircon, damaged door reflector, cracked lighting knob. I have not done much to upkeep it as well, other than not missing the yearly servicing. So I should be reasonably happy with my car, so far so good.

Strengths

Delivers strong power and torque from a small engine
Better packaged (equipment level) than the current entry level of Jetta

Weaknesses

Signs of wear and tear starting to show (not too bad though)



Singapore
Member offline

Happy 1st Birthday!

Reviewed on 9 Jun 2010 6:07PM
Reviewed by: swordsman
Car reviews written ( 5 )
Duration of car driven: 1 year
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Celebrated my Jetta’s first birthday recently, no cake but taken a nice Sunday morning drive to the airport for breakfast. Having clocked just over 15000km, my car is considered a relatively low-mileage used vehicle. It could fetch me some good $ if I were to sell it in the current inflated COE market (omg! 30K now!). Well, only if I give up driving. :-P Driving experience My year-old Jetta has matured into a reliable and stable companion wherever I go. Every morning it wakes up with the familiar half-minute grunt, much like the groan my son gives me when I wake him up for school. After which the engine readily picks up with the 200 kicking horses and nippily runs up the 7-stage gears. However, acceleration from stationary usually hesitates between the “ultra-short” gear 1 & more powerful gear 2, or the car jerks if the driver tries to be a bit more enthusiastic. Given that it is a pretty heavy 1.4L car, labouring at low rpm is expected before turbo kicks in. Acceleration performance is still the strongest in the mid-range. When it comes to gear shift pattern, it is known that in “S” mode, each gear pulls to higher rpm (typically >3000) than in “D” mode (typically ~2000 region) before shifting up to the next one. If I tried to be a little more heavy-footed in “D” mode, the car will complain with “tick-tick-tick” sound and refuse to up the gear. I have to let go of the pedal and gently tap on it again to regain some composure. Probably that tells me I should have set to “S” mode instead. I seldom play with the paddle shifters, partly due to laziness and largely due to the heavy roads that I travelled daily. Kick-down lethargy is still annoying at times, especially from gear 7 down to 6 / 5, unless with manual intervention. On a brighter note, handling of the car has slowly grown into me as I can now effortlessly manoeuvre it, be it in heavy traffic or tight corners, with the car responding readily and precisely to the way I want to. As for FC, the following pattern has been observed: - 8~10km/L for short journey (<5km) with frequent stops - 10~12km/L for moderately heavy city driving - 12~15km/L for highway travel, including peak hours but no massive jam - 15~18km/L ultimate for smooth highway travel, average speed 80~90km/h Growing-up year While the engine is getting smoother, around the engine compartment starts to get a little more vocal, especially before the engine is warmed. The side mirrors sometimes make noise when turned, probably due to trapped dirt in the gaps. Rear tyre got punctured once, luckily was able to be patched, and it’s running well so far. Dents and scratches begin to appear, thanks to your neighbours’ slamming doors, a typical “ritual” in Singapore’s tightly-spaced carparks. Otherwise Jetta’s sturdy body remains pretty much unfazed. A year on, more of my car’s “brothers” are seen on the road. Apparently Jetta’s popularity has picked up. While its exterior design has never been its trump card, some say dated, masculinity in other departments still attracts a family man like me. It is still exciting to sit in a well sculpted seat, close the door with a solid thump, hold onto the comfortable leather-wrapped steering, tap on the pedal, and hear the melodic baritone of the turbo engine as the car ups its gears smoothly…well, almost. Sometimes I just don’t want to switch on the radio to enjoy those sounds – my lovely wife will ask if the radio is spoiled (:-P). Reliability is bound to degrade as the car ages. Recent news about Polo’s jammed windows and a damaged Jetta gear-box in the middle of the road unavoidably raised my eyebrows a little (:-D), but touch-wood mine is still alive and kickin’! Long live, my Jet!

Strengths

Small engine but power-packed & torquey
Smooth 7-DSG
Sturdy body
Excellent handling

Weaknesses

Unsure 1st-to-2nd gear change
Kickdown lethargy




Latest Response:


edlaz
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 21 Jun 2010 6:38PM

Yeah that's like getting the car as a long termer. It'd definitely be informative to know how the car performs as it goes about with daily chores. Hahas, I suppose it's a good thing if you run out of things to write about. That means your Jet is in good health and serving you well. =) asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 21 Jun 2010 3:23PM

Thanks, edlaz! I hope to write a review on every anniversary of my Jetta as I thought it would give a more complete picture about the quality of the car and be useful to other car users. That's my ideal of a user's review of long term usage of a car, while new car reviews are best left to the experts. Of course potential problem is I may run out of things to write :-D asdzds

edlaz
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 9 Jun 2010 6:28PM

Happy 1st birthday to your Jetta! And thanks for the detailed review. I realised you've been logging reviews on your car for the past year. It's impressive and touching to see someone so passionate about his car. Here's to you and your Jet! Cheers! asdzds


Singapore
Member offline

Road Trip (sequel to
review 1)

Reviewed on 2 Sep 2009 2:31PM
Reviewed by: swordsman
Car reviews written ( 5 )
Fuel consumption: 11.4 km/litre
Drive pattern: 90% highway
Duration of car driven: 3 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

This is when the Jetta’s huge boot is most useful. Took my family (of 5) on a road trip to Malacca over the weekend with load-full of luggage – the boot just gobbled up everything without breaking sweat! Tired? Put down the rear seat backrest and one could lie down in the boot and stretch out comfortably... a bit exaggerated lah. Great opportunity also to set the car “running” along NS-HW. It was really about letting out my pent-up desire after months of driving through daily crawling traffic. While keeping an eye on safety (TP & cameras as well :-P), I managed to climb the rpm scale from 2000 (speed ~100km/h) until 3700 (speed ~180km/h) on gear 7. I did not try top speed of 199 km/h as I was approaching vehicles ahead on the stretch of road that I did the speed test (ok, I admit was also hesitant to hit the limit ;-)). I thought, “Wonderful! Is that all the rpm the car needs?” On the other hand, that means the car’s maximum power is not utilized, unless I ram it from standstill to 5000 rpm (but heart-pain to do that leh…). During high-speed run I was hearing more road noise rather than the sound of engine / turbo. At some stretches of the highway noise could get very intrusive. I’m wondering if I should now go and sound-proof the wheel arches. Wind-noise is low, with only the occasional “whoosh-whoosh” heard from turbulence gushing past the wing mirrors. The body was extremely stable, even at 180 km/h I could feel that the tyres were firmly on the ground with no hint of vibration or wobble on the steering wheel. And the car always felt like it still had enough lung power to push further. Great stuff! At the end of the day, average FC registered in the car now stands at 8.8 litres/100km. Of course the relatively high FC may also be due to my not so “law-abiding” drive along the way. At this point, it’s probably the last time I’m going to track my FC as the constant monitoring can get quite a bit obsessive and tiring, which took away some fun from driving the car. It’s not like I’m going to drain fuel like nobody’s business but if I’m so conscious, I might as well change my car to a bicycle :-D One thing I still don’t quite fancy is the response to kick-down in D-mode during overtaking (yes I know, S-mode or manual shift is a better choice…). The car requires me to step really hard on the accelerator to invoke a kick-down, and that could take 1~2 seconds depends on how hard I stepped. The engine then runs up to very high rpm which consumes a lot of fuel. With such time delay during lane change, a car coming right behind might kiss or swear (a.k.a. horn loudly) at my car’s pretty butt. Worst still after that only to find the butt of a “crawling snail” smacking right in front of my face. And I’ve to step on the brake pedal again right away, and hear the “vvroom” turns to “meeooowww”... really feels deflating… During the journey, I saw a convoy of Lambo’s (all S-plates) passed by. Quite a sight, wondering if that was one of their regular ventures up North. Not long after another convoy of Celica’s, Type R’s followed. Reminded me of “Hua Shan Lun Jian” in Louis Cha’s martial arts novels, perhaps they were all converging at Sepang for some track fun. All in all it was an enjoyable drive, thanks also to the checkpoints on both sides which were surprisingly not crowded (wonder why?). I'm already looking forward to another trip even though I've just returned. Ha!

Strengths

Extremely stable body @ high speed, with power to spare

Weaknesses

Road (tyre) noise can be quite intrusive




Latest Response:


joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 16 Sep 2009 9:45AM

Eber, thanks for the clarification asdzds

Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 15 Sep 2009 1:48PM

The subject is a tricky one. DSG to my knowledge attempts to predict the next gear shift based on some parameters like acceleration speed. If the prediction is "wrong", there is a delay penalty, but not half bad. If the prediction is "right" then the gear shift is really fast (faster than a manual shifting action). I don't have the specs on hand, but there should be ample documentation out there on the web. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 4 Sep 2009 8:11AM

Eber, am i right to say that for DSG. when we use in Semi-Manual mode, the Down gear will have teh same respond as a manual transmission? cause i always have the thought that in up gear, GSG is good. but when things come to down gear, it might not be as great. asdzds

Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Sep 2009 6:57PM

Hi Swordsman, glad to read that you are very happy with your car! About the stomping - change gear kick down delay, seems to be a habit most of auto cars and the VW Tiguan I drove recently exhibit a little of that as well. But all is great when you switch to the "semi" manual gear shift mode or switching it S-mode and keeping it at 3-4k rpm *before* overtaking. Oneshift.com is going to have a Drive Away event up to Malaysia soon, keep your eyes peeled :) Thanks for sharing a very useful, honest review. asdzds


Singapore
Member offline

Anybody noticed
Golf's brother?

Reviewed on 20 Jul 2009 12:29AM
Reviewed by: swordsman
Car reviews written ( 5 )
Similar cars tried: Renault Megane 1.6, Honda Civic 1.8, Toyota Prius
Fuel consumption: 10.5 km/litre
Drive pattern: 90% urban
Duration of car driven: 3 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Amidst busy launches of new VW models in SGP (Passat CC, Golf VI, Scirocco) in the last half year or so, the introduction of the 2009 Jetta TSI in April was relatively muted in the media. Given that not much has changed in the car from 1yr ago, I probably understood why it was so. Maybe you think Jetta is just a Golf + boot, with Golf being reviewed umpteen times, so why bother? Well, here I am looking at some of Jetta’s lesser-noticed features and not-so-perfect characteristics instead of the well-publicised “oohs!” and “wows!” of its hot-hatch sibling. Compared to the 2008 Jetta Sport, this 122bhp turbo-only version is an added "entry level" that now comes with 7-speed DSG, plus some other small changes (audio head-unit, “hidden” exhaust pipes, etc.). Exterior of the car has the look of a normal family sedan, nothing flashy. To me, the car does look "manly" when I see it at an angle somewhere between the front and side. Maybe the back juts out a bit too much creating a longer overhang from the back wheels (reminds me of the older Camry). If you noticed, this car does not have an antenna sticking out of the roof which is quite rare for a European car. The “night-lamp” beneath each of the wing mirrors is a nice little assistant especially when I parked the car at a dark place. The only grouse I have is the “half-hearted” folding of the wing mirrors, which stops at about 60 degrees from the opened position. The pivot of rotation is too close to the door. The grey-black themed cabin exudes a typical Euro-feel: mature, classy and purposeful. Some may call it dull (compared to the brighter and curvy Japs). But I like it, especially the blue-red lighting of the instrument when it's switched on at night. The seats are comfy and nicely cushioned, at least all my passengers so far have no complaints. The driver is sensed if the seat belt is fastened, so is the front passenger which is not common in many of the sedans I knew. The central armrest’s height and reach are nicely adjustable but the storage compartment beneath it is a little too small for putting CD casings without compromising the height-adjustment ratchet (doesn’t work if the armrest is not fully closed). It would be nice if the compartment is a bit deeper and longer. Oh, but I can plug in my MP3 player via the 3.5mm audio socket in the compartment which probably will become a standard feature in all future new cars. The front seats are somehow oddly biased towards the centre of the car, typically felt by the closeness of my left leg to the sideboard of the central console, thereby creating relatively bigger gap between the front seats and the door panels. I thought the good width of the car could have been better used by having wider front seats. Cabin space is ok, given that my family members are all typical Asian-sized, but I thought as a European-designed car it could have been bigger. There is no flat floor at the rear middle seat and the middle passenger needs to open his legs (definitely not for “hers”!), although rear passengers are “compensated” with twin rear aircon vents – a touch of class but air-flow is too weak. The boot is humongous for a car like this, good for family road trips but I would trade it for bigger legroom in the cabin. I mean how often do you go on a road trip? As expected, without the supercharger, turbo lag is present in the drive. However once turbo sets in, the drive has more oomph and is much more satisfying. I wouldn’t say it flies, but the 200Nm that comes in as early as 1500rpm made cars in the rear-view mirror shrink pretty quickly. Not to mention the pleasant and not overly-intrusive bassy grunt of the engine coming thru the cabin. I’m still adapting to it because I have never driven a turbocharged car before. The 7-speed DSG is wonderfully smooth, but I don’t quite fancy the approx. 1-second response lag in manual shift mode. Perhaps I’m being unfair because my last ride was a manual car. In terms of fuel consumption, currently at 9.5L/100km after having travelled just over 2300km, it is still quite a distance away from the specifications. Yes, it depends on driving style, load, road conditions and what-have-you. Driving thru daily heavy traffic didn’t help, but I also wonder how “gentle” must I drive in order to achieve the rated consumption figures… Overall the Jetta TSI is a good family sedan for everyday use, although so far not yet a fuel-sipper as I expected it to be. It also has a number of features that enhance driver’s convenience and safety. But many new higher-end mid-size car are beginning to add in similar or even more features at a lower price. Yes, some Japs 2.0L are cheaper than the Jetta TSI by >S$10K, not to mention the Koreans which you can trade in a Jetta for 2. So after VW pocketed its profit margins, Jetta has to prove its worth in terms of quality (of build and service) and reliability. That’s what I have invested in. Hopefully I will be proven right in the years to come with my ride.

Strengths

Solid body, small but power-packed turbocharged engine, smooth 7-speed transmission, largest boot in its class, flexible driver convenience settings

Weaknesses

Turbo lag, fuel consumption higher than rated, pricey




Latest Response:


terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Sep 2009 1:52AM

Thanks Sword. Will switch over to that forum. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Sep 2009 1:33PM

Prices of Jetta and Civic are on par now, and to Toyota it's somewhere between Altis and Camry. So Jetta certainly makes a good competition, but IMO still some way to go against the 2 establishments with abundance of alternative services, availability of spares and opportunities for mod. Btw I opened a thread in forum for Jetta discussion as somehow I can only see 5 latest responses from our previous exchanges, dunno why. Link is shown below: http://www.oneshift.com/forum/topic_details.php?fid=18&tid=8469&tpageid=1&cb=list_topics.php%3Ffid%3D18%26page_id%3D1&keyword= asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Sep 2009 1:10PM

I think it is also due to the inflated couse of Honda and Toyota. with their selling cost at such a high price. most ppl will go for Conti. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 2 Sep 2009 4:15PM

Hi Joseph, the FC reading hover around 8 and 7.9. Have been driving more normally instead of the girly driving style. Considering that I am mostly on the highway, I think this is as good as it gets.. The Oil level not giving any problem yet. But keeping my finger crossed.. All there is an influx of Jetta... All the sudden.. quite a few on the road... must be becos of the launch back in April.. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 2 Sep 2009 11:41AM

So how? any latest update? asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 25 Aug 2009 11:30AM

Okay, Glad to know that it can take "normal" Engine Oil. Anyway heard that the new Octavia is coming out this friday. If the price is good (after the inflated price of new release), then might be another good car to consider. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 24 Aug 2009 1:11AM

Hi Joseph, my FC is down to 7.7 lit / 100km (based on computer reading). Its abt 12.9 km /litres based on my own fuel and distance monitoring. Just hit abt 2000km. Not too bad considering its weight. The sales gal mentioned that the oil evaporate faster for Turbo charged engine. Thats the reason for the monitoring. I guess it applies to most contiental cars with their servicing at 15000. My old man drives an Audi. He is always topping up the oil. (he bought the cheapest kind from the petrol station). So far the car still ok lah.. =)I might do likewise.. keke asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 22 Aug 2009 11:33AM

Is it true that all turbo engine will drain out engine oil? sorry i did not drove a turbo car before. but i had not heard of this from friends about this. can anyone confirm?? cause i understand that the engine oil VW using is not the same type a normal type of engine oil. also Swordsman and terceltan how is the FC now? asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 16 Aug 2009 1:57AM

Ya.. you are probably rite.. right now the figure is down to 7.9lit / 100km. So there is a down trend.. Keke.. just reached my 1000 km.. time to let it fly abit faster. So far, I have been quite impressed with the handling. Power wise is not too bad. Oh.. with regard the servicing, its 15000, but make sure you check your engine regularly at 5000km. Turbo charge car tend to have their oil evaporating faster. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 13 Aug 2009 9:44AM

terceltan, I heard from frens that stated FC in car spec are tested with conditions like no aircon, not fully loaded, and probably running along a traffic-free road. So let's just not worry too much about hitting the said figures :-). Your car is still fresh, maybe like what joseph22 said, wait until edges in moving parts are smoothen... Isn't your car on a 15000km or 1 yr service interval? I was not told to do first servicing any sooner, so I'm happily driving until 1st yr is up. I roughly remember a chart that shows cost is around 200+ ~ 400+ depending on major/minor service. For me as a low-mileage user, annual cost about same as Jap cars which are advised to do service every 10000km or 6 mths. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 13 Aug 2009 12:00AM

The figure seems to just hover around 8.1 lit / 100km... Considering all the highway driving... agree with Sword that we can never achieve the stated rating... =( Sword, you taken your car for your first few servicing? Expensive? asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 12 Aug 2009 11:03AM

Anyway, the figure is almost the same as my Mit Lance GLX when i first got it. But the FC improve to current 7.2Ltr/100km after 2 1/2 years and travel 80K. Hope that it will improve as the time go by. Afterall, TSI Engine suppose to be built for Fuel Friendly. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 12 Aug 2009 9:44AM

I only hit that fig once when I travelled on AYE-ECP starting from clementi and exit at fort rd. Most of the journey was just cruising at 70~90km/h. Kind of matched with terceltan's drive. I've almost come to terms with (a.k.a. resigned to) my average 9.5L/100km FC with my 90% city driving, dun think will ever go down :-| Btw, another discovery: during idling FC with aircon on is about 0.7~0.9 l/h, w/o aircon it drops to 0.5 l/h... just fyi asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 12 Aug 2009 7:45AM

Ok, Look like the FC is not exactly great. do keep us posted. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 11 Aug 2009 9:16PM

As it stands, Reading is down to 8.2 Litres / 100 km Very Gentle Driving. Approx. 80% highway and 20% city asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 11 Aug 2009 7:57AM

What is the driving pattern like? asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 9 Aug 2009 12:51AM

Travelled abt 300km... Based on the Car Reading, its 8.5 Litres / 100 km. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Aug 2009 9:36AM

Yep, HSBC insurance, note: with 50% NCD, otherwise $ would have been higher. Hope the rate stays in the future... asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Aug 2009 12:16AM

Less than 800??? No kidding! Are you taking the HSBC insurance? hey guys... I gotten my car!!!! Will post some figures soon... So far so good... plenty of nice features... asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 5 Aug 2009 1:39PM

Wow, indeed i am surprise but i am also very happy to heard that... asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 5 Aug 2009 9:52AM

Yeah, you're right, lower rd tax but power no less :-D Bet you'd be surprised, my insurance is <800 (with 50% NCD), pretty reasonable as premiums have been skyrocketing :-( asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 4 Aug 2009 8:06AM

At Least you will know that you will pay a cheaper road tax when its time for renewal. since its a 1.4. However, i think that saving will go into the insurance since that its a Turbo charged... haha. But dont worry, you will know that you are safe in VW since its a conti make aka harder body. Plus i think this model have Nacap 5 Star at 97% as compare to most Japan brand that at most achieve 80+%. hence its safer. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Aug 2009 10:31PM

I will provide the FC figure. I drive alot on the freeway (at least 80-85%) and if my FC feedback (after I get the car) is high.. haha.. thats it man.. Hoping to achieve at least 13 km per litre.. But from Sword review.. I am having serious doubt we can get anything close.. Was actually considering the 1.8 Civic (similar price) before I decide on the Jetta. Think her FC is slightly better. My brother in law drives a 1.6 latest Civic. Goodness.. the engine is super silent... asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Aug 2009 9:36AM

:-D We are FC-conscious folks! I'm hoping for better fig as the km builds up. So far I've been running city roads, I think that largely contributed to the higher FC. No yet a chance to rev even to 3K rpm to feel the "shiok-ness". I think the bassy grunt I heard @2K rpm is probably a partially opened divert air-valve. Fully opened valve maybe @ >3K rpm (guess only). In the case of twin-charged engine, supercharger will close @ around 3700 rpm for turbo to take over completely, according to VW info. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 2 Aug 2009 10:04PM

Could the high FC of most reported due to the fact that it had turbo?? cause i think most ppl who get a Tubor in the car, will tend to be tempted to Rev it high to feel the turbo shoick... hopefully it is not the case though... waiting for your feedback on the the car soon asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 2 Aug 2009 2:04AM

Hi sword, I just settled my payment today and will be getting the car on Wed after a 3 mths wait. The TSI (170hp) I tested was the previous model. (It was before the launch of this new TSI (both 122 and 160). It might be the 160 one that I drove. As I was totally not getting a car that cost more than 70k then, I didnt really pay attention to the car details except to get a feel of its handling. However, the pick up rate is really good. I floor it during the test drive once we are out of the centre(to the horror of the sale rep.. haha)and the car overtook everyone with room to spare. I eventually bought the 1.6 (A) as it was within my budget. But they launched the TSI 122 hp a couple of days later!! I (was oversea) called the sale rep to upgrade it immediately paying another 4k more for the 122 hp. I didnt even get the chance to even test drive it.. hahah.. I will post some feedback once I get the car though.. Can see from your review that the FC is not as good as they claimed. This is rather disappointing as this is one of the major reason why I got the TSI. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 31 Jul 2009 1:49PM

Hi terceltan, welcome to the club (or is there one?)! We can exchange driving experience on this car. I supposed you test drove the 122bhp car before you signed on the line? Did you compare it with the 160bhp one? Since you have tested the 2007 car, wouldn't you feel the 122bhp one less powerful? For my case, I didn't test both, just by looking at the tech spec. there is not much difference between the two, except 160bhp has supercharger in it, but other than higher power & torque, it didn't seem to push up other performance significantly (0-100km/h time, fuel efficiency, etc.). I don't understand why and didn't want to spent on unknowns, so settled for the 122bhp version :-D If you are interested, here are some related reading materials: http://www.worldcarfans.com/10705294254/new-vw-122-ps-tsi-engine-in-detail http://www.autoevolution.com/testdrive/volkswagen-jetta-14-tsi-122-hp-2009-new-cars-collection.html asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 31 Jul 2009 8:44AM

I tested drived the 1.4 TSI 2007 (with 170 bhp) before. Very powerful (compared to my Vios that is... ). Handling is quite good also. Wonder if this 1.4 TSI 2009 (122 bhp) is anything near it. Anyway, bought the car. Most likely getting it next week. Will post some feedback on it shortly.. (keeping my finger crossed that it is a good buy!!) Thanks Joseph and Swordsman for your review and reply. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 28 Jul 2009 4:59PM

the 2009 Jetta 1.4 TSI 122bhp is only turbo Charge. sadly. i was thinking if super charged is better asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 28 Jul 2009 11:42AM

I don't know much about car.. but is the 2009 Jetta 1.4 TSI 122bhp supercharged? Is there any turbo in it at all?? Didnt find any material online to suggest that.. .. Clueless.. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 22 Jul 2009 8:46AM

Swordsman, Thanks for the reply. I had actually tried Golf GT Sport awhile back and like it alot(given that its a small CC and good FC for the Power). But was thinking that i might not need such a powerful engine and i prefer Sedan. Hence was thinking of this model. Anyway, i am actually shopping in advance. 2 more year before i can change my Car but its a hugh investment/liability hence start looking around now. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 21 Jul 2009 11:58PM

Hi joseph22, VW will be glad to know you are interested ;-) Not sure if yours is typo, but I meant 90% city driving, 10% highway. So if you are mostly on highway (and provided not always caught in jams), you should be able to get better figures than 10km/L. As for turbo set-in point, frankly I'm not 100% sure. Normal driving at "D", the car typically up every gear at about 2K rpm all the way until gear 7. Roughly between 1.7K & 2K rpm (I also seldom drive above 2K rpm), the grunt is audible and good torque can be felt. I don't want to pretend that I know enough, just thought that at those rpm the turbocharger is already at work. Maybe any expert out there can advise? Thks Btw, if you are willing to part with another $5K, the Sport version comes with the "real" TSI (twin-charged, 160bhp/240Nm), touchscreen audio unit, 2 more speakers (mine already have 8!), and better-looking rims. Hey! I don't work for VW, just for clarification :-). So, enjoy your search! asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 20 Jul 2009 3:52PM

Thanks swordsman for the review. am glade to know that the FC for 90% highway is around 10Km/Ltr. I notice you mention about the turbo Lag. Mind to review at what RPM does the turbo set in?? I was wondering if high Rev is needed for the turbo to set in as i'm interested in this model too. if high rev is needed, then this car is not for me. (my normal driving is about 1.5K to 2K rpm. asdzds

Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 20 Jul 2009 1:26PM

Great review! thanks :) asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 20 Jul 2009 12:45PM

Yep, 90% city driving (SGP is actually 100% urban :-D). Seldom go on highways these days, esp. avoid during peak hours. Anyway don't need to take highways on my way to/from work. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 20 Jul 2009 9:02AM

When you mention 90% on urban. do you mean 90% on city drive? if so, i will say wow, in my memory i only heard of Jazz making that FC in 90% city drive. asdzds