Volvo S60 2.0 T (A) 

This car is no longer available in the market.
Latest OMV: $35,030
Engine Cap: 1984 cc Turbocharged
Power: 180Bhp @ 5500rpm
Torque: 240Nm @ 5000rpm
Type: Sedan
Euro NCAP:
User Ratings: 3.86 from 7 reviews

Authorized Dealer


Have you test driven this car before? Post Your Review

The reviews are meant to assist others in research and to make informed buying decisions. Please be detailed and descriptive! Your review can make a significant difference in influencing decisions. Please login before submitting your review.
Extra information here provides more technical details to the car being reviewed:
km/Litre

User Reviews (7)

Singapore
Member offline

The mark of an exec,
a company car

Reviewed on 1 Oct 2010 12:17AM
Reviewed by: Javlim
Car reviews written ( 3 )
Fuel consumption: 11 km/litre
Duration of car driven: 3 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

An executive's car. It is plain but robust in build and safety. It's a company car and that's a good reason why most ppl wouldn't buy it - Looks. If it looked a little more exciting, perhaps more ppl would love the car. But as it is, it is about as exciting as watching paint dry. The S60 has been rather reliable and easy to drive. Power is available when I need it and braking is so-so. It is a heavy car. But the up side is that I know it's more like a tank than a car so I'm feeling much safer shuttling my kids around.




Latest Response:


XF
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 23 Dec 2010 10:37PM

Yeah, my dad used to have one, before he swapped it for an Audi A6 because my mum disliked the heavy steering. Enjoy the car! Ours was also reliable, except for a slightly loosely operating Audio On/Off switch. asdzds

Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 4 Oct 2010 8:15PM

Hi Javlim, that's really funny saying your S60 is as exciting as watching paint dry! hahaha asdzds


Singapore
Member offline

cruiser ...
definitely a cruiser

Reviewed on 3 Jul 2009 5:49PM
Reviewed by: mudpeas
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: VW Passat 1.8 TSi, Saab 93, Subaru Legacy GT
Fuel consumption: 10 km/litre
Drive pattern: 55% highway, 45% city
Duration of car driven: 3 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Although it's 9 yrs old since introduction (and end of life already), it still looks very sleek and sporty. The rear and side views are the best while the front is looking dated. Seats are comfortable, aircon power is just right, stereo sounds decent but pity about the space in the rear - 6ft folks can't really seat behind each other. It rides pretty well except that the Continental tyres are pretty stiff, making the ride harsh and letting you feel the bumps over man-hole covers. Now for the drive: city driving sure isn't like the lighter cars plus the turbo lag makes you struggle a bit. However, once you spin the 5-pot past 2.5k rpm, it flies like a bird...really. But be careful, it can get unwieldy at speeds...or was it just my own ineptness? Anyway, within our nation's speed limits, it's a breeze to cruise and relax in the tranquility it provides.

Strengths

Ultra safe feeling, solid built, quiet cabin, smooth cruising capability, comfy seats and reasonable stereo.

Weaknesses

Turbo lag makes city driving a little tiring and expensive (fuel cost).

Rear space isn't too generous but makes up with good seats.



XF
Singapore
Member offline

Not a real handler,
but great as a
cruiser. A quality
car.

Reviewed on 12 Jun 2009 9:38PM
Reviewed by: XF
Car reviews written ( 5 )
Similar cars tried: Honda Accord
Duration of car driven: More than 3 years
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

My dad owns one, so i have a couple of things to say about it. Firstly, it has a great and comfortable interior. The seats are plush and very supportive. The sound system (Dolby Digital Pro-Logic II) is superb and great to listen. However, the space at the rear is tight and legroom and headroom at the rear is in short supply for tall folks. It has a 2.0 light turbo engine which gives it sufficient power. Turbo lag aside, it feels brisk. As i am not yet old enough to drive (T.T), i cannot describe the driving experience in detail. However, from my dad and after reading several reviews, I can conclude that the car has a woody steering feel and is not a driver's car. Rather, its strength lies on its decent cruising ability. It feels relaxed and it offers a decent ride. It is solid (hard doors, lots of safety features) and good to look at. The S60 makes a decent car, good cruiser and enough feel-good factor to let you know that you are in a premium car. And in my view, S60R rims and a bodykit should beef up its looks and make it look racy and handsome. Just don't expect it to do sporty.

Strengths

Comfy, quality interior.
Engine not really fast, but good enough.
Relaxed character.
Great value.
Will look geat with S60R-Spec wheels and bodykit.
Terrific stereo, great seats.

Weaknesses

Space at rear seats a little tight.
Outdated chassis.
Not agile; turning radius is scary
Not exactly safe; 4 star safety rating



Singapore
Member offline

Great Drive &
Safe

Reviewed on 4 Sep 2008 11:15AM
Reviewed by: blk356
Car reviews written ( 2 )
Similar cars tried: Merc C200 & B170. Alpha 156.
Fuel consumption: 10.4 km/litre
Drive pattern: 65% on highway & 35% urban.Optimum is 2000rpm which is more than sufficient to get through traffic which is about 80km/hr.
Duration of car driven: More than 3 years
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Surprisingly to find an un-tapped power under the hood of this 2.0Turbo 5-line engine. Legally LTA approved tuning can unleash a warping 230bhp for stage 1 modification up to 250bhp for stage 3. A superb blending of responsiveness, power and fuel economy in the 2.0 range even with its big and heavy body. Most generous seat size compared to most 2 litres class like BMW, AUDI and MERC for passengers. Rather deceiving tight leg room at first glance but this is because of the bigger and longer seat that provides more support to your butt-tops & thigh then more other 2 litres ranges. The difference can be felt when going for long drives when sitting on a smaller seat can be much more a pain than enjoyment. The good limbo support for long distance comfortably to both front & back passengers. Sit 4 comfortably and sufficient space for 5th person for short distance but not advisable if going for >12hrs drives. Renowned solid body frame and safety features is the marquee. Never mind if you a superb defence driver, there will be others careless & reckless drivers on the road! Consider the price tag as paying for extra insurance because even 1 mm more of steel can make a big different between life or death during any fatal accident. Over-drive because of FWD when taking corners. Standard factory fit of 205/55R16 does injustice even with it wide body and low CG of S60. Handling of corners and body roll are a minus point. Change to a set of 225-17/18inch and installing anti-roll bar may just be trick as corrective measures. Very few 3rd party soup-ups can be found in Singapore beside Heico or GM Motor-Volvo original parts. Fuel saving tips: Normal drive patterns 65% on highway & 35% urban (mostly during evenings & weekends outings). Optimum is to keep below 2000rpm which is more than sufficient to get through normal traffic if you are in not hurry. (Turbo kick in around 2000rpm) For those who are less patience with traffic on 1st/2nd lane, trying keeping below 3000rpm and bring the rev up it (but not floor it) once in a while if you have to overtake. Keep tyres nicely inflated as the car feel it can be sluggish and the gear auto adapts the traction

Strengths

Safetly, power & fuel enconmy

Weaknesses

Pricy spare part only from GM motors unless self import.




Latest Response:


blk356
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 5 Sep 2008 9:18AM

Sorry typing error, should read as "Over-steer" not "Over-drive" asdzds


Singapore
Member offline

Car to play safe
in...

Reviewed on 4 Jul 2008 4:05PM
Reviewed by: mach
Car reviews written ( 3 )
Similar cars tried: Accord JDM, Camry, Civic, Saab 93, Saab 95, VW Passat,
Fuel consumption: 9.5 km/litre
Drive pattern: 60 highway, 40 road
Duration of car driven: 2 years
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Owned it to close to 2 years. My 4 yr old S60 never fails only fuel cost consideration deters driver from calling upon its horses more frequently :P Fun and safe car to drive. This is the car I would want to be seen in especially with family. Can't wait to try my hands on North South Highway cruise. Sure thing a helluva cruiser!

Strengths

Fuel economy surprisingly good
Best in class cockpit seat
High torque at low revs
Smooth in line 5 engine
Durable and hard wearing parts

Weaknesses

Heavy front and front wheel drive blunts its handling
Occasional creaks (but even airplane has it as well)




Latest Response:


mach
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 14 Jun 2009 5:25AM

V50's turning radius is similar to a compact car, takes 2 lanes to perform a U turn. Rather amazing for a FWD station wagon of almost 2700mm wheelbase. Handling is an improvement over S60 given the excellent platform shared with Ford Focus / Mazda 3. asdzds

XF
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 13 Jun 2009 7:15PM

Yes I have read your review. The V50 is pretty cool. At least, cooler than an S60. I was just wondering if your V50 also suffers from a wide turning radius.. Read my review on my dad's S60! =D asdzds

mach
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 13 Jun 2009 12:03AM

Thanks, i've traded the ride for another Volvo..a V50 recently, read my review in this forum. It was a great 2 years of ownership until i found an exporter keen to take my babe at a relatively higher value. Missed the S60 for its 1st class ride, frugal consumption (9 to 10 km per litre on 50/50 highway/road) and great looks. Don't missed it for its less than perfect handling, wide turning radius (2.5 lanes) and blind spots. asdzds

XF
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 12 Jun 2009 8:56PM

You seem to like your car a lot! My father owns a 2005 S60 2.0T as well. I was also pretty convinced that it was a safe car (just knock those doors!) BUt i was slightly disappointed when i found out it only had a four star safety rating (2001 material!!) It was stable at 160kmh at the NS highway in Msia. Great for speeding too!! =P However, just a word of caution. If you are thinking of stuffing tall people at the back, they might be less than happy due to the slightly restrictive legroom and the stylish sloping roof impedes into headroom as well. Enjoy your cruise, it has great seats and a top class sound system to enjoy as well! My dad's car had a wonderful trip to Cameron Highlands. Just the right cruiser!! asdzds