Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6 VVT 5Dr 

This car is no longer available in the market.
Latest OMV: $14,779
Engine Cap: 1586 cc
Power: 125Bhp @ 6800rpm
Torque: 148Nm @ 4800rpm
Type: 5 Door Hatch
Euro NCAP:
User Ratings: 4.33 from 6 reviews

Authorized Dealer


Have you test driven this car before? Post Your Review

The reviews are meant to assist others in research and to make informed buying decisions. Please be detailed and descriptive! Your review can make a significant difference in influencing decisions. Please login before submitting your review.
Extra information here provides more technical details to the car being reviewed:
km/Litre

User Reviews (6)

Singapore
Member offline

keeps my adrenalin
pumping

Reviewed on 6 Feb 2011 2:51PM
Reviewed by: navy831ari
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: none but thought about the honda jazz and the colt turbo(never did like turbo engines);my other car is a Camry and that is for the family.
Did my research and went for it.Timing was good cos' COE was $1020(Feb 2009)
Fuel consumption: 13.8 km/litre
Duration of car driven: 2 years
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

This car is good for me.I'm 50 now and this is what the doctor ordered.It's not the most comfortable(most journeys in Sinagpore are of 30mins or less),spacious or sensible car out there.But hey, I don't care.It's the same sort of reason why one would wear a Rolex when $20 Casio will tell time just as well.You see, it's the feel good factor.I feel great driving this car.It's nippy,darty and has street cred. What more could anyone ask for?

Strengths

4 disc brakes( a must have),1.6 liter engine,looks, sporty set up(wheels,tyres, suspension)

Weaknesses

fit/finish,low rent paintwork, general sense of fragility




Latest Response:


Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 16 Feb 2011 2:51AM

I agree, it's a great car to have and drive around. Mine's closing in on the 4 year mark and it's giving me no or very little problems. asdzds


Singapore
Member offline

The japanese answer
to the original Mini

Reviewed on 12 May 2010 10:44AM
Reviewed by: Errand
Car reviews written ( 3 )
Fuel consumption: 12 km/litre
Duration of car driven: 1 year
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Swift – The dictionary definition –noun 1. any of numerous long-winged, swallowlike birds of the family Apodidae, related to the hummingbirds and noted for their rapid flight. 2. tree swift. 3. spiny lizard. 4. Also called swift moth, ghost moth. any of several brown or gray moths, the males of which are usually white, of the family Hepialidae, noted for rapid flight. 5. an adjustable device upon which a hank of yarn is placed in order to wind off skeins or balls. 6. the main cylinder on a machine for carding flax. adjective, -er, -est, adverb, noun –adjective 7. moving or capable of moving with great speed or velocity; fleet; rapid: a swift ship. 8. coming, happening, or performed quickly or without delay: a swift decision. 9. quick or prompt to act or respond: swift to jump to conclusions. 10. Slang . quick to perceive or understand; smart; clever: You can't cheat him, he's too swift. If you take a quick browse of the dictionary, this is the definition of the word Swift. The marketing and engineering people at Suzuki obviously were looking to use the word Swift as an adjective more than a noun. You wouldn’t want your car to be likened to a “spiny lizard” or worse, a “ghost moth” (whatever that is). I digress. The Swift is everything like what the dictionary definition of its adjective meaning. The 1.6 motor pushes out 125bhp but that is more than enough to shove its lithe body around. This makes the Swift incredibly fleet footed. If you rev the engine from rest and dump the clutch, the wheels will let out a satisfying chirrup before the car lunges forward like the proverbial bat out of hell. The handling of the car is also well sorted out. Starting from the wheels to the suspension to the steering wheel, the Suzuki engineers can more than stand proud at their creation as the entire car feels more like the extension of your body. I won’t compare this with the venerable Lotus Elise in the area of handling (since I’ve never driven that before) but for what it’s worth, the car is quick to react to driver inputs and it can take a pounding. The downside of the car is that the clutch is harsh on the take up. I find myself having to lift off the throttle and stay off it till the next gear is fully engaged and the clutch released before stepping onto the throttle to smoothen out the ride. If you shift fast, the ride will become rough and jerky. Another gripe about the car is its internal space. It is small. There is no way around that problem. However, I don’t exactly see it as a problem. Where I work, there are a lot of people who will not shy away from leeching a ride from you and so the small space of the Swift works to my benefit as I can “legitimately” say that my car has no space. I can have the car all to myself. I like the car, a lot! I just don’t see myself sharing it with anyone else.

Strengths

Fast
Fun to throw around
Easy as hell to park
Feels like an extension of self
Good FC figures

Weaknesses

Harsh clutch take up
Noisy, buzzy engine
Small interior space




Latest Response:


Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 17 May 2010 11:35AM

If you sat in the rear, it's going to be rough ride. and being bumped about and flung around is norm due to the rear suspension. The car can get rather jerky if not clutched or accelerated properly. Some swift drivers say it might be a problem with the ignition (coils?). asdzds

edlaz
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 16 May 2010 1:13AM

I've had a chance to ride in a friend's Swift some time back. Well, it was not so much a ride but getting flung from one passenger side window to the passenger window on the other side. The little hatch can be a little noisy on the highways as the gear ratios are a little too closely packed but on winding roads, it comes alive in the hands of a skilled driver. It nips and tucks into corners neatly with any instances of understeer sorted out by gently lifting off the throttle. It's small, fast and hellva lot of fun! asdzds


Singapore
Member offline

Affordable And Fun

Reviewed on 5 Jan 2010 3:21AM
Reviewed by: danial
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: Suzuki Swift 1.5M
Subaru Impreza 1.6M
Honda Jazz
Citreon C4
Fuel consumption: 12 km/litre
Drive pattern: 50% Urban 50% Highway
Duration of car driven: 6 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

The Suzuki Swift Sport reminds me of Hayden Panettiere; small, pretty and talented. I would imagine how its European inspired design would turn heads in the West but in Singapore, no one would bother giving it a second look on the roads because it is so common. The Sport's upholstery is eye catching with its bucket seats and door trims accented by a striking red colour. The stainless steel pedals are also a nice touch. My only issue with the interior is that the gear knob and handbrake feel rather cheap. The 125 horses go into overdrive whenever I put my foot down, making drives on open roads a real joy. It gets exhilarating once you pass 5500RPM, going from 0-100kmph faster than it takes Usain Bolt to run the 100m. I certainly couldn't get the same rush in the more expensive new VW Polo or an Impreza 1.6M. I dare say it feels faster than the Mini Cooper I've test driven as well. The steering feels weighted when parking but feels just about right at higher speeds. The Sport shines at corners and the stiffened chassis just refuses to understeer. With its fine handling, I'd feel safe making tight corners. One drawback, however, is the size of its backseat, which is just about big enough for 3 malnourished adults. However, there is still more leg room at the back than in a Mini Cooper. A common problem with hatchbacks is the lack of boot space. The Sport's boot could fit 1 medium sized luggage and the left side of a pair of shoes. The right side fits snugly in the glove compartment. With the back seats folded however, luggage room expands significantly. I would recommend this car to anyone who is looking for an exhilarating yet reasonably fuel efficient drive, at an affordable price. I'd imagine the Sport putting a decent fight in a drag race against the likes of the 1.4l turbocharged Alfa Mito and Fiat Bravo.

Strengths

Nimble
Sticks to the ground at turns
Nice upholstery
Fun

Weaknesses

Needs a 6th gear
Horn sounds like a scooter's




Latest Response:


jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 7 Jan 2010 10:32AM

i am on my tuned impreza and i floor it..cannot even smell their smoke it is like the swift had a bolt on turbo or something..impressive asdzds

danial
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Jan 2010 10:55AM

maybe it was a heavily tuned impreza with a wrx bodykit:) asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Jan 2010 10:11AM

saw one the other day picking up with a WRX , i was stun as it was almost as fast as the WRX. looks like a heavy tuned one but stll cannot believe it as the WRX is sure not lightfooted and is a shame asdzds

muss333
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 5 Jan 2010 5:36PM

i've signed up for an account on oneshift just to post this response.lol. The review was quite funny and informative. Thanks! Drove my cousin's suzuki sport the other day. very fun and i agree with your comments about the cornering and acceleration. one question though, does keyless entry come standard or PI models only? asdzds

danial
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 5 Jan 2010 3:40AM

Sorry for the paragraphs which are not visible. Accidentally pressed submit. Not even really finished actually. I can't find the button to edit this review so I guess this will do. asdzds


Singapore
Member offline

Fun

Reviewed on 26 Jul 2007 6:39PM
Reviewed by: lomobug
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: Jazz, ZC21, Colt
Fuel consumption: 14 km/litre
Drive pattern: 80% Highway
20% Urban
Duration of car driven: 3 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Worth every cent. No regrets at any minute of my drive so far. Head turner.

Strengths

Powerful 1st gear, good feedback from steering wheel

Weaknesses

Needs 6th gear, 'fart' smell intolerable when rev-ed hard



Singapore
Member offline

Great Handling and
Decent Power

Reviewed on 8 Jul 2007 6:22PM
Reviewed by: Evan
Car reviews written ( 4 )
Similar cars tried: Ignis Sports
Fuel consumption: 11.7 km/litre
Drive pattern: 50% urban, 50% expressway
Duration of car driven: Less than 1 month
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

This is a priliminary review of the Swift Sports (from Champion Motors). Driving impressions: The steering feels well weighted. Not too light nor heavy. The swift sports takes corners well with minimal body roll. Suspension damping is also decent. Stock tyres (Dunlop sports maxx) seems to perform well at this point. Acceleration is quick and gets really heady when RPM reaches 6000 and above. There's however a strange occurance of a smell in the cabin when the car is wacked hard. There are also similar reports by other swift owners. I'll continue to monitor this. Apparently the smell comes from the catalytic converter. The Swift really shines in the corners, easy to steer and maneuver. Just point and shoot! Seats are decently upholstered with exciting red trims, integrated console looks neat and for once, easy to operate. The gear shifter knob and hand brake handle remains too plasticky for my liking, but can be solved easily by swapping out to momo or equivalent ones. I get 11.7 during the 1000km break-in period, and it seems the FC will get better after the synthetic oil change. Will make updates soon on this! Overall an excellent package and recommended for someone looking for an affordable, sporty (and fun) ride.

Strengths

Perky Engine
Above average upholstery
Great Handling and Maneuverablity

Weaknesses

6th gear needed




Latest Response:


Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 23 Apr 2009 12:03PM

Hi Jason, I tried the getz, jazz, ignis, ignis sports, most of the hatches actually. But when I saw the Swift sports on the japanese website before it reached our shores, I was sold. pricepoint and performance. Stuart, for me the FC gets better. 70% highway gives me 13.5km/l But it'll drop drastically when travelling on the NS highway at 140-150km and above due to the 5th gear ratio. asdzds

stuartloh
Malaysia
Member Offline
Responded on: 23 Apr 2009 11:08AM

well ! I get the 11.7 KM/litre too in my break in with two full tank in this period, and just did the oil change yesterday.but mine is an auto transmission. put in the full synthetic,will try to look forward for some good FC! asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 2 Dec 2008 10:22AM

Which car have you compare on your existing ride before you decide on this baby , u seem to know a lot about cars. asdzds