Honda Civic 1.8 VTI-S (A) 

This car is no longer available in the market.
Latest OMV: $25,350
Engine Cap: 1799 cc
Power: 140Bhp @ 6300rpm
Torque: 174Nm @ 4300rpm
Type: Sedan
Editorial Score:
Euro NCAP: N.A
User Ratings: 2.75 from 4 reviews

Authorized Dealer

Kah Motor
Currently unavailable

Have you test driven this car before? Post Your Review

The reviews are meant to assist others in research and to make informed buying decisions. Please be detailed and descriptive! Your review can make a significant difference in influencing decisions. Please login before submitting your review.
Extra information here provides more technical details to the car being reviewed:
km/Litre

User Reviews (4)

Singapore
Member offline

Aircon compressor
problem

Reviewed on 5 Aug 2009 8:49AM
Reviewed by: titanolo
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Duration of car driven: 1 year
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Bought my Civic in 2008 and had already encountered problem with the compressor. The car will vibrate/shiver whenever the compressor kick in when the car is stationary. When highlighted during servicing, KM reply is "Its normal". To have such problem with such high price 1.6L car is unacceptable. The reply by KM when the problem is highlighted is even worst.




Latest Response:


wilsonchay
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 26 Feb 2011 4:29PM

Hi - I guess all civics have this same problem that you've mentioned. So it is indeed normal, although we civic owners don't like any aircon vibration. asdzds

Adzest
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 26 Jan 2010 2:04PM

Hi. I MYSELF AM RATHER DISAPPOINTED WITH e VIBRATION WHENEVER THE CAR IDLES. Got e same generic reply from kah motors saying that it's normal . For such a premium price we'd paid for it does not justfy their reasoning . Btw, i drive e 2009 1.8 civic. asdzds

wilsonchay
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 10 Aug 2009 10:29AM

You got aircon problem with your civic? Well, I own an altis and I can smell diesel and petrol through the aircon, even when the aircon is set on recirculation mode. Tried fixing it about 5 times already in Borneo motors, and still got problem! Moral of story - sometimes really your 'luck' on getting a good car. You can even get a Beemer, but 'sway sway' you end up getting a lemon of a car, we have to live with it or change the car together. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 5 Aug 2009 9:39AM

Yours a 1.6L? Different from the header... ok that's not my point :-) I owned a 2004 civic before, its aircon compressor was more vocal than the engine, and of course accompanied by a bit of vibration. I'm not sure if the vibration you experienced is significant (like set your steering wheel dancing) or is it more of discomfort. Apparently Honda did not take care of this aspect in civic's latest installation. No matter how refined the engine is, such shortcoming is going to affect the car's quality image. And that doesn't really justify the high price KM is charging. I'm afraid they also dunno how to fix it, so paiseh and cover up by saying "it's normal". Sigh... asdzds


Philippines
Member offline

It's a Great Car ..

Reviewed on 8 May 2008 12:33PM
Reviewed by: olympiah
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: Honda Civic Vti (2000) and Chevrolet Optra (2005)
Fuel consumption: 12.58 km/litre
Drive pattern: 60% Hi-way/40% City Driving
Best: 13.60 Km/L
Worst: 11.57 Km/L
Duration of car driven: 3 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

I have been driving my Honda Civic 1.8s for almost 2months now and I'm very satisfied with the performance. Fuel consumption is good but, not close to Honda's claim of 17km/L. The outer appearance is really good, very sporty, and classy. One of the flaws that I found is that the interior uses cheap plastic materials which are easily scratched. Good value for your money and the best in it's class. I have compared it to all new Toyota Corolla Altis, Nissan Sentra, Chevrolet Optra and Mitsubishi Lancer and I choose the Civic over them. In terms of performance, the Civic is way ahead in it's class. Overall, for me it's a great car..

Strengths

Performance, Fuel Consumption, and Futuristic exterior and interior..

Weaknesses

The interior easily gets dirty and scratched and uses cheap plastic material. Service is not so good.



Singapore
Member offline

So far so good

Reviewed on 2 Jan 2008 8:55AM
Reviewed by: blueshark
Car reviews written ( 2 )
Fuel consumption: 12.6 km/litre
Duration of car driven: 6 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

So far so good, expected of a Civic and Japanese quality. Nice ride and plush interior for the 1.8 variant. Good air dampening quality too.

Strengths

Quiet

Weaknesses

NA



Singapore
Member offline

Problematic

Reviewed on 12 Dec 2007 4:32PM
Reviewed by: Joseph17
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Duration of car driven: 1 year
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Initially the gear box locked when shifted to P to D (went twice), then, the car jerks when my leg lifted from brake to accelerator (went to service centre twice also). Next, the interior (side door at front passenger side) leaks out powdery compound. My god, this Civic gives me a real headache.