Have you test driven any car recently? Share your experience with others. Write Your Car Review!
Found 8 items for "Jazz"
Reviewed on 10 Sep 2018 8:55PM
Reviewed by: user6442
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Duration of car driven: Not Sure
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Bought the Grace LX petrol version and noticed the different Pros and Cons of the car. 1) Pick up is effortless due to i-vtec earth dreams engine coupled with it's light weight chassis.Similar engine as the Honda Jazz and Shuttle. 7 speed CVT does not gives the rubber band effect as well which is a good thing. Sudden acceleration is achievable. Sound proofing needs to improve as the A.drive stock tyres makes the whole ride noisier. 2) Interior comes with touch display for aircon control which looks more advanced than the conventional knobs but have the problem of double tapping the buttons as well. Front dashboard is far to reach and will take time to get used to. Comes with powerful aircon,rear aircon vents, autofold mirrors as well. Lacks paddleshifts as well as cruise control which is present in the Honda city. Booth space is quite good to swallow two cabin luggage as well as two check in ones as well. Leg space is definitely abundant for 3 adults to take the back however headroom is just nice. 3) Ride handling is sufficient but unlikely to be able to take corners fast due to a simple budget setup of Macpherson struts with torsion beam. Abit bumpy in the rear of the car. Verdict: Definitely a worthy buy with the price tag it is asking for. However, do manage a reasonable expectation due to its compact sedan category.


Good mid size SUV
with hi-tech
interior

Reviewed on 26 Aug 2015 12:32AM
Reviewed by: kamenrider
Car reviews written ( 7 )
Similar cars tried: Produa Myvi, Impreza, City
Duration of car driven: Test Drove Once Only
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Test drove it at Kah Motor Alexandra, The salesman Felix Lee is friendly and helpful. The HRV shared the new City 1.5 eco-friendly engine which have just nice power to move the car around. Acceleration from standstill is normal, it's gave me the feeling just like I'm driving my Subaru Impreza as its weight around 1.2ton is similar to Impreza. Handling wise is good. I did not felt too much bodyroll during cornering even it have higher body. (All SUV does have higher body and CG.) Higher seat do provide more better front and surrounding view. The boot space is good. I cannot say it's very big but it is bigger then Jazz's boot space. Rear seat 50:50 foldable.

Strengths

Nice looking SUV, new eco engine, hi-tech interior.

Weaknesses

power tuning not as good as City.


Size matters not

Reviewed on 24 Feb 2011 6:21PM
Reviewed by: alastair
Car reviews written ( 2 )
Duration of car driven: Test Drove Once Only
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Just drove my friends jazz. To be honest, I didn't have a good opinion of the car but now that I've driven it I feel like I may have been too hasty. Despite it's size its actually pretty spacious. The foldable seats gives you plenty of space too. There's enough space for a small family. Inside is a little plain but I'm there are lots of add-ons you could get.Driving it around was quite fun. Its quite speedy for a 1.3l car and acceleration is good. Handles well too. However, it does tend to have problems on some slopes. Parking is easy with this small car. My friend tells me its a great fuel saver too. I guess as a point A to B car this is a good bet. Its fast enough to get you anywhere with ease but if you want a passenger car you might want to look at a sedan.

Strengths

Interior cab be customised to give more space
More powerful than you think
Practical
Fuel saver

Weaknesses

Small for my taste
Problems with slopes


Good Jap built car
but price slightly
high

Reviewed on 13 Jan 2010 1:24AM
Reviewed by: sanliu007
Car reviews written ( 4 )
Similar cars tried: Toyota vios, Subaru R2, Toyota Altis 1.8, Toyota Rush, Subaru Impreza, Honda Civic 1.8, GD version honda Jazz
Fuel consumption: 14 km/litre
Drive pattern: 70% highway, 30% city.
Duration of car driven: Less than 1 month
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Recently see a lot of honda fit on the road, thinking give a try on this new model since there are quite number of positive review around. This is what i felt after owning it for several hundred KM: 1. Big car feel, solid enough for this compact car 2. Nice space, roomy 3. power just enough, don't expect it perform better than vios, or other car in same class. 4. 2100rpm at 100km/h, this is good for cruising. 5. 13km/l to 15km/l for normal driving with 1 or 2 people on board 6. creamy engine, but transmission smoothness is just ok, i feel toyota super ECT is better even only 4AT. buy or not buy still depend you like honda or not, if i can choose again, i may still choose toyota.

Strengths

Solid built quality, more rigid than older version.
8/10 soundproof for the car of it class.
Good OEM sound system.
above average handling.
Pliant ride at cruise speed.

Weaknesses

high Price.
Not really best fuel efficient car around


Expensive Yet
Excellent Supermini

Reviewed on 4 Jan 2010 10:01PM
Reviewed by: eugn86
Car reviews written ( 5 )
Similar cars tried: Fiat Punto
Peugeot 207
Duration of car driven: Test Drove Once Only
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

The Jazz 1.5 is a really great car. Economical, spacious and versatile. The amount of space inside is really phenomenal given its petite footprint on the road. The equipment on-board is sufficient, especially when HID comes standard on this top of the line model. The ride is slightly less busy than its predecessor, but nevertheless still jolts around on minor imperfections on the road. The 5-speed automatic is quite rare in this class of cars, but it could have been more responsive, especially the +/- on the steering wheel which lagged a little after initiating a change in gear. And on paper the car produces 120bhp, but the acceleration is not exciting at all. Those looking for more urgent acceleration better look at the manual version or go for the Fit RS with its close ratio gearbox. However, I did not buy this car because for all it is worth, this car represents poor value for money. The price of the top of the range Jazz was more than the least expensive Civic the last time i went to take a look at it. And for the same amount of money, one is able to buy better alternatives from the Europeans and Koreans. Blame it on the very strong Japanese Yen. I was shocked when I was told that the OMV for the range topping model was $23K. Things are slightly better now after Kah Motors reduced their prices across the board. In comparison with the Suzuki Swift Sport, the Suzuki would appeal to those who put driving enjoyment above cabin space and versatility. The Swift is so much more fun to drive and feels a lot more energetic. You can really feel the 125 horses pulling the little car, and they are really there. However, the Swift is so short of legroom at the rear. All in all, if the Jazz is priced $10K lower than what it commands now, I am sure you would be seeing a lot more Jazzs on the roads. Everyone wants a Jazz, but the Fits offered by PIs represent better value probably because they have a less comprehensive standard equipment.

Strengths

Spacious and versatile interior
Fuel economical
Lightweight steering great for city and parking

Weaknesses

Stiff ride
Sound insulation could be better
Plastic used could be better and more scratch-resistant
Are there really 120 horses?




Latest Response:


hanafiah
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 22 Feb 2010 2:14PM

exactly. i am comparing the jazz and the polo in terms of value for money. in the polo you get a lot of kit compared to Kah Motor's naked jazz. plus if you are upgrading from a korean make, i'll rather go continental than jap. take 2 steps forward and not just half a step. oh and continental does not include Fiat which is extremely cheap in europe and ridiculously expensive here. asdzds

eugn86
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 19 Feb 2010 3:18PM

Ya VW Polo is really value for money. Looks more sophisticated than the Jazz too. Depends on what an individual really wants though. If he really needs a flexible interior to carry bulky items, and enjoy the novelty of a skyroof and enjoys modding with aftermarket accessories, then he will go for the Jazz. But if he enjoys European engineering and sophistication, and is looking for a premium supermini, then the Polo is the choice. People who has driven a european car seldom will go back to a Jap make. I used to wonder, but now i know why. asdzds

hanafiah
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 19 Feb 2010 3:00PM

VW Polo more value for money. EURO NCAP crash tested. DSG. The works. Shows what direct factory sales can do compared to local agent marking up prices. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 8 Feb 2010 1:17PM

Jason, I dont think Polo is this Cramp. My sis in law bought this car. Me and my wife can sit in comfortably, not what you claimed that it cannot sit 2 children. Hack, even VW bettle can sit me and my wife comfortably. Having own previous model of Jazz before, the back sit is almost equal in space to Jazz. asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 9 Jan 2010 10:49AM

yes and it is cramp , even aa picanto is much better asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 9 Jan 2010 8:00AM

Jason, have you sitted in the Polo before? I have seen the sit at the rear seat, its anything but cramp. enough to sit 2 oversize adults with ample legs space. Dont be decive by its wheel base, the german engineer done a very good job in giving ample space to the leg rooms for their cars. asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 8 Jan 2010 10:33AM

Jazz is all rounder for the hatch just like corolla for the sedan Swift sport is the best for the hatch but a bit cramp at the back Polo is the worst , don even want to test, the back seat cannot even sit children let alone adults..should extend the wheelbase IMO asdzds

muss333
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 7 Jan 2010 6:21AM

the jazz isn't a really fun ride to have and acceleration is really not that quick but OMV is good. The new Polo is something to look forward to for around the same price. asdzds

wilswong
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Jan 2010 11:52PM

I drive a Jazz 1.5 (I think you should know by now) so my response is not really to defend the car. After driving it for a year and know some issues I would want to clarify somethings. - About the 120 ponies. It will only kick in at 6500 rpms and while we are testing the car, be it at Alexander/:eng Kee and Ubi, both locations are not really helpful in unleashing the car's potential. More dangerously so when at Alexander, there's a bridge that TP like to set themselves up for speed offences (tip yeah!!) So what happened was I went over to Pasir Gudang with most things stock (except for the rim+tires), I really push the car to the limit, even with a very aggressive setting on the throttle controller set at Max sports mode. I tell you the excitement from the engine really shows its true potential. This car is in a way, hampered by the conservative throttle controller settings as it wants to ensure it keeps its FC king label intact. That's why the acceleration is less than satisfaction if one keep the controller as stock. I won't go into UNICHIP. I was also shock when the OMV is 23K for the top of the line. But it is not entirely based on the exchange rate. Those extra 'OMVs' goes towards - additional 2 disc brakes at the back - some chasis strengthening via anti roll bar at the bottom of the car - a sportier suspension than the Fit hence the gap between the wheel and the body is significantly smaller than the gap on the Fit as the Fit is mated with a suspension biased towards comfort. That explains why the ride is a bit rougher but not as bad is GD - HID lights - Climate Controller - Stock radio/CD/MP3 Player rumoured to be from the top jap brands + FOUR speakers - Moonroof - Tonneau/Boot cover - Better NVH (Actually the sound insulation is a lot more than most cars in its class) - Emergency tire As for the Swift. I agree totally with you about the drive. I test drive the 1.2l. Pick up was horrific and so was the space (i am fairly big sized). And if we want to talk about the Sport, then I would have to let on that the Sports need RON98 to run because the engine has a higher compression ratio and 98 is needed to prevent premature ignition. If we factor the cost of petrol, the Swift Sport is not that great actually and it is not exactly a good petrol sipper. So if we translate it to total cost of ownership, it may turn out to be on par or slight more than the Jazz. If we include OMV and the amount of rebates we can get back, the Jazz would have the edge over the swift sport. As you have correctly observed, there would be more Jazz if the price is lowered and Kah has lowered it to a 'saner' level. And we have VW to thank because the manufacturer is dealing direct with customers and the result was the $63000 POLO that is a direct competitor to the Jazz. But the Polo is smaller and the maintenance cost is not going to be cheap as it requires more electronic system checks at the workshop and there are not many places that specicialises in FULL conti cars maintenance (Star Black comes to mind). My 2 cents asdzds