Have you test driven any car recently? Share your experience with others. Write Your Car Review!

Excellant drive.
Never a day i dread
driving it around

Reviewed on 1 May 2011 6:41PM
Reviewed by: chendaniel
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: Volkswagen Golf 1.6
Toyota Yaris
Honda Jazz
Fuel consumption: 13.3 km/litre
Duration of car driven: 6 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

With all the hype surrounding the Minis in the upper echelons of the range itís easy to forget about the Mini One Stratford, the 1.6-litre entry-level Stratford model exclusive to the singapore market. This is a shame, for in pure driving terms itís possible to have just as much fun in the unassuming base model as it is in those costing half as much again. In fact, i reckon the $114,000 One Stratford gives the $131,000 Cooper a real run for its money. Even though the power on paper is a pathetic 94 bhp, the sluggishness expected was never present when driving it around on our singapore roads. With its 6 speed automatic gearbox, i have never found myself in a situation whereby im complaining about me needing more power. The ride of the car is extremely well cushioned thanks to the absence of runflats and low profile tires found in the coopers and cooper s. Although the rims brings in some complaints that its too small to fit beautifully to the wheel arches of the one, i feel that it does bring a sense of retro feel to the party. All in all the one Stratford is a gem to drive and the quality it presents itself as an entry level for the mini ranges does gives its other competitors a run for their money.


Finally a Mini for
the family

Reviewed on 21 Jan 2011 6:06PM
Reviewed by: ahtan
Car reviews written ( 2 )
Duration of car driven: Test Drove Once Only
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

I love the way the car looks. The countryman has a meaner look to it than more traditional Minis. The wheel arches, height and front grill gives it a more aggresive look. The dash is pretty similliar to other Minis but the countryman has so much more space for rear passengers to plus great boot space. One cool addition on the inside is a "Center rail" travelling the lenght of the inside. You clip on additions like sunglass carriers and ipod holders and move them backwards and forwards. It's fast but cause of its weight not as quick as the cooper. But steering is light and handles very well around corners.

Strengths

A lot more space in the back, handles very well and interesting interior design.

Weaknesses

A bit too pricy...




Latest Response:


ahtan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 28 Jan 2011 5:07PM

Yup, everyone is branching out now... even ferrari with it's FF asdzds

Quaigon
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 28 Jan 2011 4:42PM

Well Mini has to keep innovating to keep itself fresh. I will be surprised if they produce a sedan! asdzds

edlaz
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 27 Jan 2011 11:27PM

I suppose it begs the question: Where is the line where mini aint so mini any more? asdzds

WD45
North, Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 26 Jan 2011 9:06PM

Just too bad then... asdzds

baba181
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 26 Jan 2011 3:10PM

I guess thats the prob many would have with it... it isn't a kart anymore... :( asdzds

WD45
North, Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 26 Jan 2011 1:36PM

Torque mag reviewed it and say it didn't have the kart like handling it is suppose to have... asdzds

Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 24 Jan 2011 8:23PM

Hi ahtan, thanks for being the first to review the countryman here at oneshift :) asdzds

ahtan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 23 Jan 2011 12:31PM

This is still a good car and a decent attempt by mini to reach out to a different set of customers. asdzds

maxil
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 22 Jan 2011 10:30PM

It may handle well but its not cute and sporty like the other minis and as a 4 door car, its not quite enough in terms of space and comfort... asdzds

Fun to drive, fun
for the whole family

Reviewed on 12 Jan 2011 2:59AM
Reviewed by: Garion
Car reviews written ( 4 )
Fuel consumption: 13 km/litre
Duration of car driven: Less than 1 month
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

I love the way the base Clubman handles and the preformance out of the non-turbo. The turbo I test drove was nice, but not needed for everyday driving. The fuel economy with the manual transmission is unbelieveable at high. Plenty of room for a car seat and groceries also. Had some AC issues off the boat, but the dealer quickly fixed that.


Roller coaster with
an engine and
steering wheel

Reviewed on 25 May 2010 6:31PM
Reviewed by: Zakath
Car reviews written ( 4 )
Fuel consumption: 12 km/litre
Duration of car driven: Less than 1 month
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

The Mini has always been and perhaps always will be a quintessentially British icon. Even though it is under German ownership now, the image of the Mini is still the same. The Germans have only served to improve build quality. The Mini Cooper that I got to drive belonged to a cousin of mine. Iíve always eyed it jealously every time thereís a family gathering. And it comes as a big surprise that heíd let me keep it for awhile while heís overseas for a trip. The Cooperís exterior is preppy and retro at the same time. Hardly do car manufacturers get the ďretro lookĒ right. The biggest boo boo I can remember is the Chrysler PT Cruiser. Sorry Chrysler, it looks bad, IMHO. But back to the Mini, itís stylish and refreshing to see and be seen in. It does this whole having both genders in the car design thing really well. That is to say that the design of the car is neither leaning too much to the masculine side nor the feminine side. Itís a tough thing to do but the designers have got it just spot on. The interior is quirky to say the least. Everything is placed everywhere based on some nutty designerís sense of aesthetics. The centrally placed speedometer does not work for me as Iíd have to take my eyes off the road just to look down and left at it. The knobs and buttons arenít really intuitive to use and neither are they user friendly even after some practice. The seats are nice and supportive but this has got to be a two seater car. Why? Thatís because the rear seats are more like a torture chamber than a proper seat for a passenger. Iíd rather leave the rear seats down in the split/fold option to have a larger cargo space. Besides, who wants to lug around your friendís extra lard around? Then we come to the ride. The legendary go-kart handling, nimble and sharp steering. You know what? Itís all true. Actually, the Mini feels more like a single roller coaster train carriage with an engine. It hammers through corners with aplomb much like how a roller coaster would slam your innards into the side wall while going through a corner. The only difference is that YOU get to steer the roller coaster. Nice. The 120Bhp on tap is plenty enough to move so little weight. It can feel quite scary if youíre not used to the amount of shove that 120bhp can offer. 120bhp in a saloon car feels normal but in a car like the Mini, it is like shoving a rocket up your ass. Itís fun. Itís small (easy to park) and itís fuel efficient! I average about 12km/l. Itís the perfect car if you donít want to move too many friends or cargo around.

Strengths

Sharp handling behaviour
Sprightly attitude and performance

Weaknesses

No place for passengers/cargo


Fun. Fast.
Functional.

Reviewed on 19 Nov 2008 11:50PM
Reviewed by: leowak
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: Golf GTI, Golf GT.
Fuel consumption: 9.7 km/litre
Drive pattern: 80% City, 20% Highway
Duration of car driven: 3 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Really fun to drive. Maintains famous MINI handling despite its longer body. Great pick-up and torque, not heart-stopping but effortless for normal overtaking. Sports Mode guaranteed to wake any sleepy driver up. Steering and foot pedals feel very good, better than the GTI/GT. Engine sounds more exciting than the VWs also. Fantastic brakes. Very practical boot space - transported all kinds of bulky stuff from tables to cellos.

Strengths

Fun to drive. Great handling. Fast pick-up. Good low-end torque. Functional design. Superb cargo space with backseat down. Sure head-turner (what a nice car!).

Weaknesses

Tend to take longer route than necessary. Tend to speed when you see windy roads and corners. Very hard ride with 17" runflat tires. Sure head-turner (what a weird looking car? van?).




Latest Response:


ismailbakar
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 29 Mar 2009 5:42PM

Ok...this review was written based on the driver's/ owner's personal experience with the car and the other cars that he tested. I've tested the mini cooper before and did not buy it because the car was too expensive for me. asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Dec 2008 9:35AM

Yeah, getting a car is like getting a wife ( perfect in your own eye)but the differnece is you CanĎt dumb her even getting sick of her after a few years. cheers asdzds

leowak
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 25 Nov 2008 11:14PM

Of course..agree! :) I hav friends who driv legacy GT, WRX, golf GTI, type-R hatch and i cant catch up with all of them! Plenty of other cars can beat my tiny car anytime - more horses, faster 0-100, higher top speed, better grip etc. Many cars can even run over mine if they want to. The new WRX STI can do 0-100 in almost 3secs faster at more than 30k cheaper. Well, reviews like this are subjective, i.e. personal criteria and expectations. It scored full marks for me at least and i dun think its overpriced. Some write technical analysis, some prefer emotional experience. I'm sure the clubman would not score a single point to some. Jeremy clarkson called it a turbo toilet n condemned it. If one wishes to compare numbers and specifications, they can read them on paper. That's why we call it USER review. Cheers :) asdzds

jasontang
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 21 Nov 2008 10:46AM

for the price you paid , a subaru legacy GT will beat you flat on all area except only on the look , 5/5 score is not a fair review i think. asdzds