Have you test driven any car recently? Share your experience with others. Write Your Car Review!
Found 4 items for "Prius"

Classy but the Prius
2011 is better in
some ways!

Reviewed on 11 May 2011 6:04PM
Reviewed by: uncletan
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: Prius, Honda Hybrid,
Duration of car driven: Not Sure
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

I felt like as if I was in a conventional Camry on the highway. Starting feels impressive and gearshifts are also very good, better than Hondas! It is quieter than the conventional particularly in the city with some audible acceleration upon overtaking. Body roll seem quite good surprisingly. My guess is Toyota's electronics have improved it's stability to a degree where passengers inside would feel safe. It is not an idiot car for tailgating or vroom vroom but in fact a very lovely car to own! I would be hard pressed to choose this hybrid Camry or the latest generation of 2011 Prius!!

Strengths

Roomy, Nice layout, brilliant function with peaceful feeling

Weaknesses

Cornering could be improved and response but not at the expense of being hard or bumpy




Latest Response:


Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 11 May 2011 6:33PM

Hi uncletan, what a humourous piece! haha asdzds

Hybrids need to
advance beyond the
hype

Reviewed on 24 May 2010 2:41PM
Reviewed by: Malcolm
Car reviews written ( 6 )
Duration of car driven: Test Drove Once Only
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Iíve got a bone to pick with hybrid cars; specifically the Prius. I can understand if you want to save the environment and still commute around in a car. But what I donít get is the constant reference to the Prius as THE solution to save the world from smog filled Armageddon. The Prius is a luxury product, not our saviour. There are quite a number of other hybrid vehicles out there that do the same thing and most importantly, achieve roughly the same mileage at a lower price. In our market, thereís the Honda Civic Hybrid, Lexusís GS, LS and RX models just to name a few. Thereís also the little Honda Insight thatís not available here. All of them either ease up fuel consumption of a given model or like go as far (like the Insight) to use as little fuel as possible to cover a given kilometer. Yet none of them have gained as much reputation and thus as much sales as the Toyota Prius. Not even Toyotaís Lexus has had any success with selling hybrids. Before I get called out for comparing apples to oranges, letís take the Civic 1.3 Hybrid against the Prius 1.8. Thatís as close at it can get on a comparison scale for the local market. (The old prius with the 1.5 engine got replaced in the new iteration) The Prius costs $113,988 and the Civic costs $81,800. Thatís a 28.3% difference in price with the Prius being more pricy. However, is there a 28.2% increase in performance? Letís see. The Prius gets a claimed 25.6km/l and the Civic a claimed 21.74km/l. Thatís only a 15% difference in fuel consumption figures. The Prius puts out 90g of Co2 verus the Civicís 81.5g. Thatís 9% less, and in the Civicís favour. Of course you might argue that the Prius has a larger petrol engine and it does put out more combined power than the Civic. Yes that makes it torque-ier. But do you need that much power just to move off? Be honest, you want that immediate move off the stop line. The Civic pushes out 94bhp and the Prius pushes out 134bhp. 94bhp might be a paltry amount by todayís standard but it is still enough to get you around. It wonít be particularly quick and the carís modern (read: heavy) equipment will see that you wonít be going anywhere fast. But thatís exactly the point; youíre trying to save fuel, not speed. If you want speed, youíre in the wrong category. And most people are in the wrong category. Yes, the Prius is cheaper per kilowatt hour than the Civic but come end of this year, the Nissan Leaf and the Chevrolet Volt will see production. And by the looks of it, the Leaf looks to undercut the Priusís production cost, by a significant amount. Google it. But, will it or any other new EV/Hybrid vehicle see as much sales as the Prius? Would you stand proud and say, I drive a Leaf! Iím not so sure about that. You see, the Prius nameplate is more than just a name for a hybrid vehicle made by Toyota. It represents a lifestyle, a positioning statement, a proud declaration that I am self sacrificial, stylish and green. (In that order. Note that green is placed last) In this case, this is definitely an example of the messenger being more important than the message. The Prius is now an icon but its message has been lost in translation.




Latest Response:


uncletan
Bukit Timah, Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 11 May 2011 5:54PM

I disagree with your review. Your calculations verges on inaccurate information! asdzds

Malcolm
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 26 May 2010 10:29AM

@relagsingh: I suppose you're talking about the Neodymium magnet inside the Prius? I think the question of it being more pollutive than a regular car or not is still up for debate. Though diesel like you rightly pointed out is the way to go, for now. It is ultimately still fossil fuel we're burning. I won't be one to predict which technology will be the solution to our motoring future but I'm pretty intrigued by the "Tango EV". Go google it if you have the time. Small, low cg and capable of a burnout. asdzds

relagsingh
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 25 May 2010 9:27PM

It causes more harm to make those batteries. Diesel is the way to go. for now. asdzds

This is what FUTURE
CAR will be!

Reviewed on 31 Oct 2008 12:53AM
Reviewed by: simonleokl
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: Nissan Latio 1.5 Premium CVT > one heck of a lousy car, dump it after 3 years 4 months!
Fuel consumption: 24 km/litre
Drive pattern: City 40 Highway 40 Heartlands 20%
Duration of car driven: Less than 1 month
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

A solid built car with Fuel saving in mind. Can out run a honda civic 1.6 auto anytime, acceleration is 10.2 sec to 100km/h. Spacious and comfortable. One of my FAV car, waited 4 months for it and never once regretted it eventhough it cost so much more than a civic. Compared it to a civic hybrid, it thumps it hands down. Civic hybird is not a full hybrid as it cannot run without the gasoline engine while the prius can and can run in stealth mode. It is so quiet in EV mode that when parking your car please be extra careful. Parking is always in EV mode never use gasoline engine at all. Driving a prius is easy and effortless. Starting it is like powering a PC. There are many gadgets found for prius that can put many other drivers in envy. It is just about how much money u willing to burn to bring them to SG. A great family car that can sit 4 passenger comfortably and even can put in a adult bicycle if only one rear passenger is in the car. Toyota sure has a winner in this one. Stop buying useless non-hybrid car, future is here with Prius!

Strengths

Quiet, Comfortable and spacious. A futuristic dashboard and good quality plastics all round. Many small compartments for use and big boot to place your barang barang. Very good FUEL ECONOMY at least 20KM/L. A fun way to drive in EV mode and a display to show you all needed information. A Fantastic car!

Weaknesses

I have added auto folding mirror, auto tilting mirror, Night Safety mirror and many other items for PRIUS 2008. Cost me a bomb! Is well worth it. Also change default radio to similar one with wma/mp3 function and included DVD playing capability in the MFD and rear view camera. Fully packed Prius!
Basic Model- None of the above mentioned. Even as a basic model it has no weakness just less creature comfort.


Fuel Efficient, Cool
Factor!

Reviewed on 18 Feb 2008 3:12PM
Reviewed by: ijsberg
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Similar cars tried: Honda Civic Hybrid 2006
Fuel consumption: 18.2 km/litre
Drive pattern: 70% urban (average speed: 65km/h)
30% highway (average speed: 95km/h)
Duration of car driven: Less than 1 month
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

The car itself is rather futuristic in design, spacious (more so than an Altis actually), and when stretched delivers strong performance (although the slipping clutch sensation of the CVT takes some getting used to). Overall, it is just like any regular family car, albeit packed with more gizmos. There is a B mode in the CVT gearbox and that is for engine braking mode, which is particularly useful for downslopes where the engine brakes whenever the foot is lifted from the throttle. The handling is rather neat and feedback from the electronic power steering (EPS) via the smallish steering wheel is average. Personally, I don't really fancy the minor shudder when the petrol engine kicks in but that is really a small issue. The best part of Hybrid ownership? Fuel efficiency. I drove approximately 180km in a day and the fuel indicator did not even move an inch. The consumption monitor shower an average of 5.5l/100km, which is roughly 18.2km per litre. Mind you, this was some real world driving which included some heavy right foot moments for overtaking. The car will also run perfectly fine on the cheaper 95 Octane petrol. But bear in mind that because of the premium in price they command over a similar petrol-engined car, it only makes sense in a long term ownership. After factoring in the initial extra you have to pay and also less the number of times you have to refuel, you have to be driving the car for about 5 years (just my personal calculations) before you can really feel the savings. I still rate it as good value as you do get tax rebates and pay lower road tax than a 1.6 litre car on top of having to refuel (significantly) less. Overall this is a more than capable alternative to the regular family sedans. But how many people actually accepts this technology and its benefits still remains to be seen.

Strengths

Green vehicle rebate, fuel efficiency, silentness, spaciousness.

Weaknesses

Slight shudder when petrol engine kicks in, slightly lethargic going uphill, high initial price.




Latest Response:


lemeinpls
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 16 Dec 2009 12:59PM

Hi Dear Fellow Prius. Maybe some of you are interested in the Priuschat forum? There is a Singapore Prius club in http://priuschat.com/forums/groups/singapore-prius-club/ asdzds

simonleokl
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 31 Oct 2008 12:55AM

anyone forming a Prius club? asdzds

nightfall
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 8 Jun 2008 8:38PM

I maybe wrong, please correct me if I am. I have read that the Civic Hybrid is not a full electric car as compared to the Prius. By that I mean that the Civic H only assists the engine every now and then unlike the Prius where the electric motor actually does come into action without the petrol engine being in use. With that in mind the consumption on the Prius should be better. asdzds

ijsberg
South, Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 27 Feb 2008 5:33PM

Hi Eber, nope I've only sampled the Civic Hybrid on a test drive, and the Prius for a month. asdzds

Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 27 Feb 2008 2:51PM

Hi ijsberg, looks like you've done your research! Did you test drive any other (semi) hybrids? Lexus, Citroen (CNG), etc. asdzds

ijsberg
South, Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 27 Feb 2008 1:50PM

Glad that it helps! But do bear in mind that everyone's driving habits are different, so you will get varying figures all the time. Yes the Civic Hybrid is quite frugal but unlike the Prius, it was not designed as a hybrid system from ground up, but having an integrated motor assist (IMA) system to boost the petrol engine. It does however gives a more engaging and fun drive. Cheers! asdzds

Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 26 Feb 2008 1:01PM

Cool, thanks for the useful review! I've also heard that the Civic hybrid does about the same mileage roughly 18km/l as well. asdzds