Have you test driven any car recently? Share your experience with others. Write Your Car Review!
Found 7 items for "Passat"
Reviewed on 25 Aug 2019 10:28PM
Reviewed by: wilsonchay
Car reviews written ( 3 )
Duration of car driven: Not Sure
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

The passat horn is a fraction too slow when you press the horn. Should be more immediate reaction. Apart from the horn, i don't have any other issue. This car is great. Roomy inside out, great comfy drive, great turning radius, good driving position. Gives me that steady limousine feel. 4/5 stars.


Reviewed on 12 Jan 2017 4:49PM
Reviewed by: darrell
Car reviews written ( 1 )
Duration of car driven: Not Sure
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Some background. 20+ years experience, 3 previous cars, the last one being a VW B6 Passat for 9 years. Performance and Handling Coming from the B6 Passat, the Sharan feels very familiar. The acceleration is more than sufficient, especially when overtaking. 350Nm definitely moves this heavy beast. Off the line, the factory-fit Continental tyres are less than sufficient to tame the engine, often resulting in wheelspin when enthusiastic acceleration is called upon. The pull all the way past legal speeds is invigorating, as is the guttoral engine note at WOT - I now know why the GTI is the most popular car in the VW range. The 6-speed DSG in "normal" auto mode feels like a standard automatic gearbox. Even when using the paddles, it does not have the snappy gearchange I expected. But knock the lever to the left, and then the DSG shows it's true mettle; changing gears faster than humanly possible (I used to speedshift my stickshifts and this is something else). The steering feel is very remote, almost vague...and although the light weight feel of the flat-bottomed wheel hides feedbaclk from the tyres, there is a distinct response to inputs that allows one to get the vehicle sorted out in most situations. I haven't had the chance to drive in anger around a fast sweeping bend, nor attempted to hurl around a tight corner, but I can get the inside wheels squealing on occasion, and never does the car feel like it is losing it (I have definitely felt out of sorts in the Passat over the years, even fishtailing on the rare occasion). Braking is sufficient, with decent feel after the initial vagueness. It does not bite hard, but is it is pretty progressive, without any distinct fade even after repeated stops from unmentionable speeds...and I dare say that left-foot trail braking into a fast corner does not seem to upset it; it invokes confidence to a large extent. The large size of the car is pretty daunting, especially when I park at home in my small narrow driveway. But around on the roads, I no longer find myself guessing about the placement of the tyres, and can almost feel the car start to shrink around me. It is still a heavy car with a high-riding centre of gravity, and you can feel it when correcting in the midst of a corner. Fortunately, the ride is setup well, and only the hardest of braking causes the car to dive quite a bit, but it never overwhelms the front. Interior and Comfort For an MPV without a massive Boxy shape, this is probably the most comfortable sub-5metre people mover. The front seats are the most plush, and feel like they come straight from the Passat, and with alcantara (just like my B6 Passat), with electronic adjustments to allow my wife and I to select our favourite positions; but the biggest (and most notable) gripe about the car is the lack of memory seats. My 9 year older Passat had 3 memory positions, which automatically moved the seat and side mirrors to the right position for each driver (even the turn-down position for parking). The back 2 rows of seats are enough for all to feel like they are not rubbing shoulders and with adjustments to move forward and back, with a little play on lean angles. Seatbelt detection for all 7 seats means the driver (and passengers) will be made aware if anyone unbuckles while the vehicle is in motion (with an audible "ding"). With 4 (yes this is NOT a typo) 12V points, including the cigarette lighter, I have been able to add more than 10 USB charging points for my family's devices, as well as the car devices (GPS, dashcam...) I do wish the position of the 12V was not so weird (3 are in between the front seats, and the last one is behind the 3rd row) Each row of seats is large enough for the average Singaporean to fit in without dreading a long ride. I am confident we can make it to Penang without my teenage son complaining. Ingress for rear passengers is also more than sufficient. I do admit that the sliding doors protrude more than I expected and I can no longer park just next to a wall that is next to my C pillar, having to leave almost a foot of gap to allow for the door to fully open. The 2 side seats of the middle row even comes with a built in booster chair, so I no longer need to carry a car seat for my youngest child. It is so easy to use, he pushes it into place and happily buckles up each time he gets into the car. The individual aircon vents for all passengers and 3-zone climate control are a godsent,; my 4 kids can sit and not fight over where the vents are pointing. Aircon is also circulated at the floor level through a myriad of vents in the front 2 rows. Even with all 7 seats occupied, I could easily fit a whole trolley of groceries into the "boot", and that was with my usual "car barang barang" in place. As my kids no longer use a stroller, my previous worry of having to fit food and pram at the same time is no longer an issue, but I am pretty sure with some origami, all would have fit into place. With the last row folded, the Sharan becomes like a large station wagon, with all the usual amenities provided (removable cover, cargo nets, special divider to prevent animals and other loose items from smashing into the passengers). The rear seats easily fold flat without having to access from the middle row, and can be pushed back into place with a little more finesse required. The panoramic roof extends all the way back above the 2nd row, so passengers have a good view of everything in front and above. It is a liberating experience driving under the landing airplanes along the PIE towards the airport, and see huge wings, engines and the lowered gear of the aircraft from beneath. Then we can talk about sound insulation... and how quiet the car is on the road. Similar to when I first got my Passat, this car is so quiet and cruising on highways so insulated that I didn't realise I was speeding most of the time... until the letter from the TP arrived. Unless provoked with a heavy right foot, road, tyre and engine noises are practically mute, as are the traffic sounds from vehicles around. I am pretty sure that even at autobahn speeds, I could have a conversation with my passengers without having to raise my voice. Gadgets and Stuff The latest "facelifted" car is still from the previous generation of VWs, so the usual instrument gauges with central multi-function display is less stunning than the latest full LED screen of the B8 Passat. You can use the steering mounted buttons to change the media, settings and even access the phone connected to the car. But it does take a bit of time to get used to the 8 or 9 buttons on each side of the steering wheel. The infotainment system provided, although the lowest of the current range of VW units, is more than capable of connecting to a phone via Bluetooth, and even has Android Auto for those with such phones. The full range of VW Android Apps is not available in the Singapore Google Play Store, and I don't see that happening any time soon. But I am more than happy to have Spotify blasting through the factory fitted speakers, which can be tuned based on the position of the listener. The bass is less than stellar, but the rest of the range of sounds are decently balanced for something so "cheap". I do wish the difference between Bluetooth volume and Radio volume was not so great, as I end up with blasting loud radio after switching from my phone media. The autohold feature which I got so used to in the Passat is not only present in the Sharan, but turns on by default when the car is started (in the Passat, I had to activate it each time I got into the car). The auto-start-stop is a little intrusive, but a lot better than the Audi version I sampled years earlier, with about 1 second lag from prodding the throttle to actual movement. For those who don't like the hesitation, it can be easily deactivated on the central console. I simply lightly touch the throttle to start the engine moments before the light turns green to avoid hesitation. The DSC seems to be more intrusive, often activating when I am driving on lightly undulating surfaces (carpark imperfections or even junction crossings with a rise in the middle). Similarly, the system kicks in when accelerating hard while turning... but I suppose that is a good thing. The built in tyre-pressure system is also a wonderful standard item to have, and I no longer have to keep checking. I do wish the car came with Blindspot indicators, rear crossing video feeds, lane departure warnings and other safety features, along with memory seats (at least for the driver). A remote engine start would also be appreciated, and a better android auto GPS app too. But this is a "basic", large, comfortable, flexible family car and I should be happy with what it already comes with....especially that GTI engine and gearbox. Summary This is now my 4th car, and throughout the progression, I have not only bought an increasingly larger car, but I am happy that I managed to get a faster and more powerful engine each and every time.


1.8 turbo anyone?

Reviewed on 18 May 2011 2:49PM
Reviewed by: ringill
Car reviews written ( 3 )
Duration of car driven: Not Sure
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

For a 1.8l enigne, this car packs a lot of muscle. I didn't find it lacking when I had to overtake. The Passat handles very well too, steering is accurate and suspension gives a very comfortbale ride. The interior design is great. Very well done with soft touch plastics. Unfortunately the car is only beautiful on the inside. The exterior looks a little boring. Unlike BMW and Mercs, the passat dosen't have much to make it stand out.

Strengths

1.8l engine is powerful
Great interior
Comfort
Accurate steering

Weaknesses

Boring exterior looks


Anybody noticed
Golf's brother?

Reviewed on 20 Jul 2009 12:29AM
Reviewed by: swordsman
Car reviews written ( 5 )
Similar cars tried: Renault Megane 1.6, Honda Civic 1.8, Toyota Prius
Fuel consumption: 10.5 km/litre
Drive pattern: 90% urban
Duration of car driven: 3 months
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

Amidst busy launches of new VW models in SGP (Passat CC, Golf VI, Scirocco) in the last half year or so, the introduction of the 2009 Jetta TSI in April was relatively muted in the media. Given that not much has changed in the car from 1yr ago, I probably understood why it was so. Maybe you think Jetta is just a Golf + boot, with Golf being reviewed umpteen times, so why bother? Well, here I am looking at some of Jetta’s lesser-noticed features and not-so-perfect characteristics instead of the well-publicised “oohs!” and “wows!” of its hot-hatch sibling. Compared to the 2008 Jetta Sport, this 122bhp turbo-only version is an added "entry level" that now comes with 7-speed DSG, plus some other small changes (audio head-unit, “hidden” exhaust pipes, etc.). Exterior of the car has the look of a normal family sedan, nothing flashy. To me, the car does look "manly" when I see it at an angle somewhere between the front and side. Maybe the back juts out a bit too much creating a longer overhang from the back wheels (reminds me of the older Camry). If you noticed, this car does not have an antenna sticking out of the roof which is quite rare for a European car. The “night-lamp” beneath each of the wing mirrors is a nice little assistant especially when I parked the car at a dark place. The only grouse I have is the “half-hearted” folding of the wing mirrors, which stops at about 60 degrees from the opened position. The pivot of rotation is too close to the door. The grey-black themed cabin exudes a typical Euro-feel: mature, classy and purposeful. Some may call it dull (compared to the brighter and curvy Japs). But I like it, especially the blue-red lighting of the instrument when it's switched on at night. The seats are comfy and nicely cushioned, at least all my passengers so far have no complaints. The driver is sensed if the seat belt is fastened, so is the front passenger which is not common in many of the sedans I knew. The central armrest’s height and reach are nicely adjustable but the storage compartment beneath it is a little too small for putting CD casings without compromising the height-adjustment ratchet (doesn’t work if the armrest is not fully closed). It would be nice if the compartment is a bit deeper and longer. Oh, but I can plug in my MP3 player via the 3.5mm audio socket in the compartment which probably will become a standard feature in all future new cars. The front seats are somehow oddly biased towards the centre of the car, typically felt by the closeness of my left leg to the sideboard of the central console, thereby creating relatively bigger gap between the front seats and the door panels. I thought the good width of the car could have been better used by having wider front seats. Cabin space is ok, given that my family members are all typical Asian-sized, but I thought as a European-designed car it could have been bigger. There is no flat floor at the rear middle seat and the middle passenger needs to open his legs (definitely not for “hers”!), although rear passengers are “compensated” with twin rear aircon vents – a touch of class but air-flow is too weak. The boot is humongous for a car like this, good for family road trips but I would trade it for bigger legroom in the cabin. I mean how often do you go on a road trip? As expected, without the supercharger, turbo lag is present in the drive. However once turbo sets in, the drive has more oomph and is much more satisfying. I wouldn’t say it flies, but the 200Nm that comes in as early as 1500rpm made cars in the rear-view mirror shrink pretty quickly. Not to mention the pleasant and not overly-intrusive bassy grunt of the engine coming thru the cabin. I’m still adapting to it because I have never driven a turbocharged car before. The 7-speed DSG is wonderfully smooth, but I don’t quite fancy the approx. 1-second response lag in manual shift mode. Perhaps I’m being unfair because my last ride was a manual car. In terms of fuel consumption, currently at 9.5L/100km after having travelled just over 2300km, it is still quite a distance away from the specifications. Yes, it depends on driving style, load, road conditions and what-have-you. Driving thru daily heavy traffic didn’t help, but I also wonder how “gentle” must I drive in order to achieve the rated consumption figures… Overall the Jetta TSI is a good family sedan for everyday use, although so far not yet a fuel-sipper as I expected it to be. It also has a number of features that enhance driver’s convenience and safety. But many new higher-end mid-size car are beginning to add in similar or even more features at a lower price. Yes, some Japs 2.0L are cheaper than the Jetta TSI by >S$10K, not to mention the Koreans which you can trade in a Jetta for 2. So after VW pocketed its profit margins, Jetta has to prove its worth in terms of quality (of build and service) and reliability. That’s what I have invested in. Hopefully I will be proven right in the years to come with my ride.

Strengths

Solid body, small but power-packed turbocharged engine, smooth 7-speed transmission, largest boot in its class, flexible driver convenience settings

Weaknesses

Turbo lag, fuel consumption higher than rated, pricey




Latest Response:


terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Sep 2009 1:52AM

Thanks Sword. Will switch over to that forum. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Sep 2009 1:33PM

Prices of Jetta and Civic are on par now, and to Toyota it's somewhere between Altis and Camry. So Jetta certainly makes a good competition, but IMO still some way to go against the 2 establishments with abundance of alternative services, availability of spares and opportunities for mod. Btw I opened a thread in forum for Jetta discussion as somehow I can only see 5 latest responses from our previous exchanges, dunno why. Link is shown below: http://www.oneshift.com/forum/topic_details.php?fid=18&tid=8469&tpageid=1&cb=list_topics.php%3Ffid%3D18%26page_id%3D1&keyword= asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Sep 2009 1:10PM

I think it is also due to the inflated couse of Honda and Toyota. with their selling cost at such a high price. most ppl will go for Conti. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 2 Sep 2009 4:15PM

Hi Joseph, the FC reading hover around 8 and 7.9. Have been driving more normally instead of the girly driving style. Considering that I am mostly on the highway, I think this is as good as it gets.. The Oil level not giving any problem yet. But keeping my finger crossed.. All there is an influx of Jetta... All the sudden.. quite a few on the road... must be becos of the launch back in April.. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 2 Sep 2009 11:41AM

So how? any latest update? asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 25 Aug 2009 11:30AM

Okay, Glad to know that it can take "normal" Engine Oil. Anyway heard that the new Octavia is coming out this friday. If the price is good (after the inflated price of new release), then might be another good car to consider. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 24 Aug 2009 1:11AM

Hi Joseph, my FC is down to 7.7 lit / 100km (based on computer reading). Its abt 12.9 km /litres based on my own fuel and distance monitoring. Just hit abt 2000km. Not too bad considering its weight. The sales gal mentioned that the oil evaporate faster for Turbo charged engine. Thats the reason for the monitoring. I guess it applies to most contiental cars with their servicing at 15000. My old man drives an Audi. He is always topping up the oil. (he bought the cheapest kind from the petrol station). So far the car still ok lah.. =)I might do likewise.. keke asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 22 Aug 2009 11:33AM

Is it true that all turbo engine will drain out engine oil? sorry i did not drove a turbo car before. but i had not heard of this from friends about this. can anyone confirm?? cause i understand that the engine oil VW using is not the same type a normal type of engine oil. also Swordsman and terceltan how is the FC now? asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 16 Aug 2009 1:57AM

Ya.. you are probably rite.. right now the figure is down to 7.9lit / 100km. So there is a down trend.. Keke.. just reached my 1000 km.. time to let it fly abit faster. So far, I have been quite impressed with the handling. Power wise is not too bad. Oh.. with regard the servicing, its 15000, but make sure you check your engine regularly at 5000km. Turbo charge car tend to have their oil evaporating faster. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 13 Aug 2009 9:44AM

terceltan, I heard from frens that stated FC in car spec are tested with conditions like no aircon, not fully loaded, and probably running along a traffic-free road. So let's just not worry too much about hitting the said figures :-). Your car is still fresh, maybe like what joseph22 said, wait until edges in moving parts are smoothen... Isn't your car on a 15000km or 1 yr service interval? I was not told to do first servicing any sooner, so I'm happily driving until 1st yr is up. I roughly remember a chart that shows cost is around 200+ ~ 400+ depending on major/minor service. For me as a low-mileage user, annual cost about same as Jap cars which are advised to do service every 10000km or 6 mths. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 13 Aug 2009 12:00AM

The figure seems to just hover around 8.1 lit / 100km... Considering all the highway driving... agree with Sword that we can never achieve the stated rating... =( Sword, you taken your car for your first few servicing? Expensive? asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 12 Aug 2009 11:03AM

Anyway, the figure is almost the same as my Mit Lance GLX when i first got it. But the FC improve to current 7.2Ltr/100km after 2 1/2 years and travel 80K. Hope that it will improve as the time go by. Afterall, TSI Engine suppose to be built for Fuel Friendly. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 12 Aug 2009 9:44AM

I only hit that fig once when I travelled on AYE-ECP starting from clementi and exit at fort rd. Most of the journey was just cruising at 70~90km/h. Kind of matched with terceltan's drive. I've almost come to terms with (a.k.a. resigned to) my average 9.5L/100km FC with my 90% city driving, dun think will ever go down :-| Btw, another discovery: during idling FC with aircon on is about 0.7~0.9 l/h, w/o aircon it drops to 0.5 l/h... just fyi asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 12 Aug 2009 7:45AM

Ok, Look like the FC is not exactly great. do keep us posted. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 11 Aug 2009 9:16PM

As it stands, Reading is down to 8.2 Litres / 100 km Very Gentle Driving. Approx. 80% highway and 20% city asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 11 Aug 2009 7:57AM

What is the driving pattern like? asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 9 Aug 2009 12:51AM

Travelled abt 300km... Based on the Car Reading, its 8.5 Litres / 100 km. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Aug 2009 9:36AM

Yep, HSBC insurance, note: with 50% NCD, otherwise $ would have been higher. Hope the rate stays in the future... asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 6 Aug 2009 12:16AM

Less than 800??? No kidding! Are you taking the HSBC insurance? hey guys... I gotten my car!!!! Will post some figures soon... So far so good... plenty of nice features... asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 5 Aug 2009 1:39PM

Wow, indeed i am surprise but i am also very happy to heard that... asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 5 Aug 2009 9:52AM

Yeah, you're right, lower rd tax but power no less :-D Bet you'd be surprised, my insurance is <800 (with 50% NCD), pretty reasonable as premiums have been skyrocketing :-( asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 4 Aug 2009 8:06AM

At Least you will know that you will pay a cheaper road tax when its time for renewal. since its a 1.4. However, i think that saving will go into the insurance since that its a Turbo charged... haha. But dont worry, you will know that you are safe in VW since its a conti make aka harder body. Plus i think this model have Nacap 5 Star at 97% as compare to most Japan brand that at most achieve 80+%. hence its safer. asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Aug 2009 10:31PM

I will provide the FC figure. I drive alot on the freeway (at least 80-85%) and if my FC feedback (after I get the car) is high.. haha.. thats it man.. Hoping to achieve at least 13 km per litre.. But from Sword review.. I am having serious doubt we can get anything close.. Was actually considering the 1.8 Civic (similar price) before I decide on the Jetta. Think her FC is slightly better. My brother in law drives a 1.6 latest Civic. Goodness.. the engine is super silent... asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 3 Aug 2009 9:36AM

:-D We are FC-conscious folks! I'm hoping for better fig as the km builds up. So far I've been running city roads, I think that largely contributed to the higher FC. No yet a chance to rev even to 3K rpm to feel the "shiok-ness". I think the bassy grunt I heard @2K rpm is probably a partially opened divert air-valve. Fully opened valve maybe @ >3K rpm (guess only). In the case of twin-charged engine, supercharger will close @ around 3700 rpm for turbo to take over completely, according to VW info. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 2 Aug 2009 10:04PM

Could the high FC of most reported due to the fact that it had turbo?? cause i think most ppl who get a Tubor in the car, will tend to be tempted to Rev it high to feel the turbo shoick... hopefully it is not the case though... waiting for your feedback on the the car soon asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 2 Aug 2009 2:04AM

Hi sword, I just settled my payment today and will be getting the car on Wed after a 3 mths wait. The TSI (170hp) I tested was the previous model. (It was before the launch of this new TSI (both 122 and 160). It might be the 160 one that I drove. As I was totally not getting a car that cost more than 70k then, I didnt really pay attention to the car details except to get a feel of its handling. However, the pick up rate is really good. I floor it during the test drive once we are out of the centre(to the horror of the sale rep.. haha)and the car overtook everyone with room to spare. I eventually bought the 1.6 (A) as it was within my budget. But they launched the TSI 122 hp a couple of days later!! I (was oversea) called the sale rep to upgrade it immediately paying another 4k more for the 122 hp. I didnt even get the chance to even test drive it.. hahah.. I will post some feedback once I get the car though.. Can see from your review that the FC is not as good as they claimed. This is rather disappointing as this is one of the major reason why I got the TSI. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 31 Jul 2009 1:49PM

Hi terceltan, welcome to the club (or is there one?)! We can exchange driving experience on this car. I supposed you test drove the 122bhp car before you signed on the line? Did you compare it with the 160bhp one? Since you have tested the 2007 car, wouldn't you feel the 122bhp one less powerful? For my case, I didn't test both, just by looking at the tech spec. there is not much difference between the two, except 160bhp has supercharger in it, but other than higher power & torque, it didn't seem to push up other performance significantly (0-100km/h time, fuel efficiency, etc.). I don't understand why and didn't want to spent on unknowns, so settled for the 122bhp version :-D If you are interested, here are some related reading materials: http://www.worldcarfans.com/10705294254/new-vw-122-ps-tsi-engine-in-detail http://www.autoevolution.com/testdrive/volkswagen-jetta-14-tsi-122-hp-2009-new-cars-collection.html asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 31 Jul 2009 8:44AM

I tested drived the 1.4 TSI 2007 (with 170 bhp) before. Very powerful (compared to my Vios that is... ). Handling is quite good also. Wonder if this 1.4 TSI 2009 (122 bhp) is anything near it. Anyway, bought the car. Most likely getting it next week. Will post some feedback on it shortly.. (keeping my finger crossed that it is a good buy!!) Thanks Joseph and Swordsman for your review and reply. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 28 Jul 2009 4:59PM

the 2009 Jetta 1.4 TSI 122bhp is only turbo Charge. sadly. i was thinking if super charged is better asdzds

terceltan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 28 Jul 2009 11:42AM

I don't know much about car.. but is the 2009 Jetta 1.4 TSI 122bhp supercharged? Is there any turbo in it at all?? Didnt find any material online to suggest that.. .. Clueless.. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 22 Jul 2009 8:46AM

Swordsman, Thanks for the reply. I had actually tried Golf GT Sport awhile back and like it alot(given that its a small CC and good FC for the Power). But was thinking that i might not need such a powerful engine and i prefer Sedan. Hence was thinking of this model. Anyway, i am actually shopping in advance. 2 more year before i can change my Car but its a hugh investment/liability hence start looking around now. asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 21 Jul 2009 11:58PM

Hi joseph22, VW will be glad to know you are interested ;-) Not sure if yours is typo, but I meant 90% city driving, 10% highway. So if you are mostly on highway (and provided not always caught in jams), you should be able to get better figures than 10km/L. As for turbo set-in point, frankly I'm not 100% sure. Normal driving at "D", the car typically up every gear at about 2K rpm all the way until gear 7. Roughly between 1.7K & 2K rpm (I also seldom drive above 2K rpm), the grunt is audible and good torque can be felt. I don't want to pretend that I know enough, just thought that at those rpm the turbocharger is already at work. Maybe any expert out there can advise? Thks Btw, if you are willing to part with another $5K, the Sport version comes with the "real" TSI (twin-charged, 160bhp/240Nm), touchscreen audio unit, 2 more speakers (mine already have 8!), and better-looking rims. Hey! I don't work for VW, just for clarification :-). So, enjoy your search! asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 20 Jul 2009 3:52PM

Thanks swordsman for the review. am glade to know that the FC for 90% highway is around 10Km/Ltr. I notice you mention about the turbo Lag. Mind to review at what RPM does the turbo set in?? I was wondering if high Rev is needed for the turbo to set in as i'm interested in this model too. if high rev is needed, then this car is not for me. (my normal driving is about 1.5K to 2K rpm. asdzds

Evan
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 20 Jul 2009 1:26PM

Great review! thanks :) asdzds

swordsman
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 20 Jul 2009 12:45PM

Yep, 90% city driving (SGP is actually 100% urban :-D). Seldom go on highways these days, esp. avoid during peak hours. Anyway don't need to take highways on my way to/from work. asdzds

joseph22
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 20 Jul 2009 9:02AM

When you mention 90% on urban. do you mean 90% on city drive? if so, i will say wow, in my memory i only heard of Jazz making that FC in 90% city drive. asdzds

Sleeping beauty

Reviewed on 23 Jun 2009 12:28AM
Reviewed by: Sparhawk
Car reviews written ( 10 )
Duration of car driven: Not Sure
Performance:
Reliability:
Value:
Overall:

The Review

The Volkswagen Passat CC is a radical change from the usual plain styling German automakers. CC according to the Germans stand for comfort coupe. In case if you’re wondering, the car is derived from the Passat CC just like the CLS is from the E-class. It is a coupe with 4 door which is convenient yet stay true to its root by allowing strictly 4 seats. In the case of the Passat CC, VW took the basic Passat architecture -- same wheelbase, same powertrain, and same basic interior -- and stretched out the overhangs by 0.6 inch and lowered the roof line by 2 inches. The front-end styling was made sleeker, a dramatic side character line was added and the rear end was tapered down from the radically sloped roof line. VW manage to produce a stunning car that can be actually described as sexy. Interior wise it carries over the same quality as of a Passat’s cabin. However the CC was obviously made over to look more up market with 2 tone leather seats available at every trim level, new touchscreen navigation system and attractive cross-stitched upholstery. The Passat CC is a decent car to drive albeit disappointment because it is still supposed to be a coupe. That saying I am just pointing out that this is a coupe which rides like a limo. The ride quality is superb and I highly recommend the suspension to be set at Comfort because neither Normal nor Sports will do the car justice. Cabin insulation is near perfection too as wind noise and road noises are kept nicely in check. The CC’s impressive 200bhp will see you off the line in mid 7s range and the engine accelerates with only slight hesitation and almost no hint of turbo lag. However do not expect explosive burst of speed at high RPMs. The handling ability of the CC is great as it offers good grip and minimal body roll but the electro mechanical steering does feel a little numb at times. Another impressive feature about the Passat CC is the amount of legroom and headroom for both drivers and passengers despite the low roofline and the fact that it is still a coupe. Rear legroom is class leading and even more spacious than that of a CLS which cost twice the price. The rear split fold also allows for even more boot space for the already cavernous boot of the CC. The real downside to the CC is the 6 speed automatic gearbox found in the 2.0 TSI model. The attractive 7speed DSG is only available in the 1.8 model which comes with about 40 less bhp but that should be able to see you reach 3 digit figures in mid 8s range, still respectable in my opinion. But other than that it is really an impressive car to be added to the revolutionary line of the Volkswagen of recent times and I simply don't understand the lack of numbers on the roads as yet.




Latest Response:


Char
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 21 Jul 2009 6:04PM

The Volkswagen Passat CC is a radical change from the usual plain styling German automakers. CC according to the Germans stand for comfort coupe. In case if you’re wondering, the car is derived from the Passat CC just like the CLS is from the E-class. It is a coupe with 4 door which is convenient yet stay true to its root by allowing strictly 4 seats. In the case of the Passat CC, VW took the basic Passat architecture -- same wheelbase, same powertrain, and same basic interior -- and stretched out the overhangs by 0.6 inch and lowered the roof line by 2 inches. The front-end styling was made sleeker, a dramatic side character line was added and the rear end was tapered down from the radically sloped roof line. VW manage to produce a stunning car that can be actually described as sexy. Interior wise it carries over the same quality as of a Passat’s cabin. However the CC was obviously made over to look more up market with 2 tone leather seats available at every trim level, new touchscreen navigation system and attractive cross-stitched upholstery. The Passat CC is a decent car to drive albeit disappointment because it is still supposed to be a coupe. That saying I am just pointing out that this is a coupe which rides like a limo. The ride quality is superb and I highly recommend the suspension to be set at Comfort because neither Normal nor Sports will do the car justice. Cabin insulation is near perfection too as wind noise and road noises are kept nicely in check. The CC’s impressive 200bhp will see you off the line in mid 7s range and the engine accelerates with only slight hesitation and almost no hint of turbo lag. However do not expect explosive burst of speed at high RPMs. The handling ability of the CC is great as it offers good grip and minimal body roll but the electro mechanical steering does feel a little numb at times. Another impressive feature about the Passat CC is the amount of legroom and headroom for both drivers and passengers despite the low roofline and the fact that it is still a coupe. Rear legroom is class leading and even more spacious than that of a CLS which cost twice the price. The rear split fold also allows for even more boot space for the already cavernous boot of the CC. The real downside to the CC is the 6 speed automatic gearbox found in the 2.0 TSI model. The attractive 7speed DSG is only available in the 1.8 model which comes with about 40 less bhp but that should be able to see you reach 3 digit figures in mid 8s range, still respectable in my opinion. But other than that it is really an impressive car to be added to the revolutionary line of the Volkswagen of recent times and I simply don't understand the lack of numbers on the roads as yet. asdzds

XF
Singapore
Member Offline
Responded on: 25 Jun 2009 3:38PM

I think that the lack of popularity here is due to the lack of VW's badge power, unpopularity and the four-seater layout might put off a few. asdzds